Don't Move - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Don't Move Reviews

Page 2 of 16
June 26, 2011
strange but wonderful movie about love, death and the impossibitlity to make the right choice
½ April 21, 2011
pretty dark. not in a terrible or aweful way. its just the dark side of love, perhaps more about obsession.
April 12, 2011
The gorgeous Penelope Cruz delivers one of her greatest and most under-rated performances (see also Elegy) as Italia, an Albanian hotel maid who falls in love with the man who rapes her. That man is Timoteo (Sergio Castellitto, also the film's director and co-writer), a married surgeon. The story is all told in flashback as the doctor is reflecting on his life. The film itself is a hypnotic and beautifully delicate erotic film anchored by a touching and amazing performance by Cruz.
April 6, 2011
Movie gem of the Week: It doesn't seem to have great reviews... though I really liked it.
April 3, 2011
tear jerker and heart wrenching
½ February 21, 2011
Realistic, sad and another great perform from Penelope Cruz
February 10, 2011
I hope we all agree its a beautiful movie
January 4, 2011
not as haphazard......the lead actor is painful (in a very good way) to watch...
December 27, 2010
Quite a melodrama. But not bad to watch if you like the drama genre. Very interesting shot to begin with.The only thing from the movie that you may never forget the exact scene.
The story line and the roles created for Timotee was interesting. Penelope (Italia) is remarkable at her role. At the end leaves you with a common dilama that all of us face in our lives: wisdom vs. sensibility. Which side should you take? Are you ever allowed to take any side?
½ December 26, 2010
Movie in which is difficult to feel empathy by the main characters, as the male one combines calmness with rage and violence and then asking for pardon as if nothing has happened, and the one interpetred by Penelope Cruz accepts abuses (probably as consequence of her past) and seems to do nothing about them but falling in love with the one who abuses from her. In that sense, the movie evolves from talking about sex and domination to a love story, in which you find some humanity from characters that, at the beginning, didnīt seem so interesting. Penelope Cruz received an award in Italy from this movie, and, if you see the beginning, you donīt find she deserves it: however, as long as the movie goes on, you find something I have always underline about Cruz, and that is that she makes her best when she plays low-class characters, without any glamour, even rude and ignorant, in whom she finds bright simplicity and pureness of spirit. Interesting character the one of the wife, and it seems she know everything but says nothing. In summary, a simple plot, quite gross in some moments, but somehow interesting (although or because their contradictions) characters and good interpretations (the main reason to watch this movie).
½ November 17, 2010
Meh. Two and a half stars. Penelope Cruz and Sergio Castellitto are both good for the most part, but the direction is sometimes off-putting, and the Euro-American pop soundtrack is really jarring. Plus, it is just too melodramatic. There is one scene where I swear Cruz is channeling Giulietta Masina, and it just does not work at all. Anyway, it drags at times, and by the end, I was mostly just glad it was over.
½ October 16, 2010
Put in simple. A man had an affair. But then the wife was pregnant. So he left his mistress. He was sad. He went back to his mistress.......
October 2, 2010
i had forgotten this movie existed until i saw it today at 4:00 am. what a wonderful story, the timeline is impecable and this movie has the most heartrending end ever. in my humble opinion, this is penelope cruz's most glorious performance. outstanding.
½ August 22, 2010
Anyone thinking this movie is about whether a love affair can plausibly evolve from a sexual assault has missed the entire point of the movie, which, like life, is far more complex than such a reductive view.

In Italia (P. Cruz) Timo has found his imago, and they embark on an affair that can only come to a band end - they both recognize this - but affairs are not about the destination, they are about the journey.

All great and doomed love affairs are the same journey - healing the wounds of our past.

The performances here are restrained and affecting, preventing the story from descending into melodrama. Penelope Cruz is stunning, revealing a vulnerability and depth that often seems to elude her in her English speaking films.
½ July 11, 2010
a poignant and at times effed up story about love, life, and the decisions we make about that love and that life. this is one i'll watch again maybe ten years down the road to see if i'll still like it as much as i do now.
June 18, 2010
In Don't Move, actor and director Timoteo played by Sergio Castellito was a wealthy surgeon who seemed to have the perfect life. A beautiful wife, a luxurious beach house, but these superficial aspects were not what he wanted out of life. Timoteo's relationship with his wife lacked of passion and true love. Timoteo's life was changed when he met a woman named Italia , Penelope Cruz and raped her. She was a lower class woman and uneducated. Passion grew into love, and both Timoteo and Italia were happy when they were together.The movie was so realistic, it showed the daily struggles of each character and their desire they wanted to fulfill, such as love, passion and happiness. The ending was not a happy at all, showing Timoteo back with his wife and appreciation his daughter got a chance to live. Italia died,and Timoteo must faced reality and let Italia became nothing more than a memory and a lesson of life.
mvieaddict
Super Reviewer
June 18, 2010
In Don't Move, actor and director Timoteo played by Sergio Castellito was a wealthy surgeon who seemed to have the perfect life. A beautiful wife, a luxurious beach house, but these superficial aspects were not what he wanted out of life. Timoteo's relationship with his wife lacked of passion and true love. Timoteo's life was changed when he met a woman named Italia , Penelope Cruz and raped her. She was a lower class woman and uneducated. Passion grew into love, and both Timoteo and Italia were happy when they were together.The movie was so realistic, it showed the daily struggles of each character and their desire they wanted to fulfill, such as love, passion and happiness. The ending was not a happy at all, showing Timoteo back with his wife and appreciation his daughter got a chance to live. Italia died,and Timoteo must faced reality and let Italia became nothing more than a memory and a lesson of life.
May 4, 2010
Well written movie full of passion, raw emotion, choices, consequences, regret, love and great acting. Penelope does it again with the amazing ability to make us feel the emotion with just one look at her face.
Page 2 of 16