Two Embraces (Dos Abrazos) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Two Embraces (Dos Abrazos) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ February 6, 2010
This movie was literally an hour or so of excrutiating PAIN... all i can say about is : boring boring boring boring
½ September 18, 2008
*Review coming soon*
½ July 6, 2008
Muy buena película para ser la primera de enrique begne (si no me equivoco) excelentes actuaciones, resaltando la de Miguel Couturier xD
June 24, 2008
Pues esperava algo ams de esta pelicula,la fotografia me gusto,además de que creo fue la mejor actuación de sariñana hasta ahora,o mas bien la senti mas amdura y fuera de peliculas de Fernando
May 15, 2008
pues esta rara... pero la vdd me gustO.. aunk senti al final asi cOmo k le habia faltadO algo.. la vdd esta buena
½ May 13, 2008
Dos historias, dos parejas, dos abrazos. Y a lo que me refiero con dos parejas, no necesariamente hablo de una relacion amorosa entre dos personas, sino dos actores juntos en una misma historia. Lo que vale la pena de la pelicula es la fotografia marcable de Barbosa, y algunos detalles musicales muy lindos y a mi gusto, profundos. Lo que no vale en la pelicula, es la actuacion de Ximena Sariana, que aun no logro entender como dicen que demostro que si sabe actuar cuando para mi, es todo lo contrario... siento que el genero drama no le va para nada. Jorge Zarate, que si es buen actor y hace un buen desempeo, tampoco entiendo como es que se llevo el Ariel este ao a mejor actor.

Otro pequeo problema de la pelicula serian los enormes silencios que se manejan y que la hacen a veces cansada, larga o aburrida. Aun asi, supero mucho mis expectativas.

Giovanni Florido es una gran futura promesa dentro del cine mexicano... es al que mas le crei. Y mi amada Maya Zapata, pues... no me gusto del todo. Ha sido la actuacion que menos me ha gustado de ella y aunque si tiene sus buenos detallitos, le falto mas conocer al personaje.
½ March 31, 2008
One more evidence that the Mexican cinema has resucitated. The first embrace is simply beautiful...the second sweet...
March 24, 2008
Joli film où 2 petites histoires racontent comment 2 êtres peuvent se rapprocher et s'apporter bcp de bien en contrant la solitude...Aussi une bonne pratique de mon espagnol!
March 6, 2008
Surprsingly heartfelt and extremely honest multiplot story taking place in Mexico City. Dealing with loneliness and the mysterious ways of love.
½ March 5, 2008
As has already been said before by others: first story was kinda blah, but the second one definitely lifted the life of the picture and could've been itself developed as a movie.

Though I did like the symmetry of how the two stories "reflected" and linked to one another...interesting use of super-8 or super-8-esque effects when the protagonists were reflecting on memories. Music was good...very different for a Mexican film w/ an indie rock thing going on.

Also of note here (that flixter han't credited), the story was by the writer of the indie Mexican sleeper "Duck Season" (Temorada de Patos). Though this was a darker and more heartfelt tale.

I'll have to play over in my head the film's concept, definitely worth a look if you come across this at a film festival or if it ever sees a DVD release.
February 3, 2008
The first embrace sucked! It was a good story, but it developed very weirdly, unfinished.
Super Reviewer
½ January 24, 2008
The film has good production value - way better than expected - and both stories, especially the second one, had potential. Yet it doesn't deliver anything. The film is one more in the long list of filmmakers who confuse silent moments for depth and raw emotion.
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2008
sounds great, can't wait to see this.
October 15, 2007
Two pretty straight forward stories of unlikely love that cannot be. Seperated by age, experience, personal circumstance, etc., these characters are brought together to share a brief but perhaps pivotal period of their lives. Through their shared company, either romantic or otherwise, they make some emotional advances. Overall a film difficult not to empathize with. Still, the filmmaking left me a little disappointed with some awkward fuzzy daydream and flashback scenes.
½ October 13, 2007
Hacen falta películas en México como ésta. No es un drama desesperante de muerte, decepción, baja moral, traición, etc. como la mayoría de las películas mexicanas... ésta sí vale la pena. En realidad son dos cortometrajes he oído a la crítica y ellos dicen que la mejor historia es la primera... yo no estoy de acuerdo, la primera es muy común, muy igual, ya la había oido antes, la segunda no. La segunda historia me conmovió, es muy original y bien pensada. Otra nota buena es que porfin veo a ximenita sariñana actuando... vaya, ya le hacía falta.
October 8, 2007
Personally, I'm not sure how this film received the awards at the festivals that it did. Not to say that it is horrible... as the first half (first storyline) is actually quite interesting and develops nicely. However, I never found myself fully involved in the second half of the film (second storyline), which is a huge problem. In the end, while I enjoyed the beginning, I left wanting a whole lot more from the end.
September 30, 2007
Well done Mexican film centering on two seperate stories involving unlikely relationships. First one involves a boy from a dysfunctional family and a girl supermarket cashier who he befriends. Second involves a Cab driver, who has a man die in his cab. He decides to chill in man's apartment, and then man's daughter shows up, and he forms a fatherly-like relationship w/ her. Sounds jumbled, but portrays the emotions of certain non sexual relationships, and has good acting and directing, so a worthwhile movie!
Page 1 of 1