Doubt - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Doubt Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Lucero Solórzano
Excelsior
September 19, 2016
A film with a vibrant and current argument. [Full review in Spanish]
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
I'm pretty happy with the conclusion that I've put together in my head. But, as with any certainty, I've got my doubts.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
In a brisk 104 minutes, we meet four compelling people, establish a living breathing school environment, tackle legitimate moral dilemmas and wrestle with topics we'll spend longer than 104 minutes discussing.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 16, 2011
Streep bursts onto the scene in a shower of meteors and takes control of director John Patrick Shanley's scenario.
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
You don't mess with two Capital-A actors when they decide to play the game of Who Can Yell The Loudest.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 15, 2009
As a movie, very little actually happens. It's a lot of discussion about what might have happened or may occur in future, and then the emotional change that signals the curtain to drop and for the class to put down their pencils. The performances are st
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
October 9, 2009
An attention-getting bit of drama built on remarkable performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Shanley's continuous straining for that Great Unknown is undercut by tidy characters and cinematic deficiencies
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
June 14, 2009
It might be a bit of a slow starter, and it definitely takes its time allowing the story to unravel slowly. However, it's definitely worth a look, and a bit of discussion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
May 14, 2009
Not a cinematic powerhouse, but a good conversation starter
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey Bloomer
Paste Magazine
April 7, 2009
The early scenes of Doubt glide past so smoothly that it's easy to miss the seditious currents underneath.
Full Review | Original Score: 65/100
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
April 6, 2009
The acting talent in evidence here is astounding and nobody, absolutely nobody puts her or his performance ahead of everyone else.
| Original Score: 85/100
Simon Weaving
Screenwize
March 21, 2009
A cat-and-mouse game of power and posture, played out by two of the finest actors of the moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Maitland McDonagh
Miss FlickChick
March 2, 2009
The cast['s]... collective efforts go a long way to mitigating Shanley's pedestrian grasp of film language.
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
March 1, 2009
A well acted exploration of desperation, the destructiveness of conviction and the persuasiveness of doubt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
March 1, 2009
this cast is nothing short of amazing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
February 27, 2009
The most thought-provoking celluloid debate of 2008; one of the year's ten best
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Cosmo Landesman
Sunday Times (UK)
February 12, 2009
Brilliant performances from Streep and Hoffman, however, make it well worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Philip French
Observer (UK)
February 12, 2009
Doubt is a provocative, pared-down work that in the theatre carried the subtitle "A Parable", and it has four outstanding performances.
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
February 10, 2009
The moral grey area of the title perhaps worked better in the stage play; exposed on screen it's not "doubt" being expressed, it's the sound of Streep's headmistressy voice demanding, "That Oscar - on my desk, NOW."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 11