Dough Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 7, 2019
Dough is not a film for serious cinephiles but it is feeding a need for an audience hungry for this kind of warmhearted, hopeful story.
April 11, 2019
Interesting relationship between a Jewish baker and his Muslim employee gets lost in a dopey plot about marijuana and the mob.
August 26, 2018
English-Austrian director John Goldschmidt and his two writers have put together a tale that, while utterly predictable, is also simply delicious.
November 10, 2017
[It] will leave a smile on the spectators who demand very little. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 1, 2017
The steady stream of laughs perfectly undercuts the serious message of religious tolerance and allows director John Goldschmidt to corral his seasoned cast to keep it light and avoid things getting too preachy
June 1, 2017
A warm-hearted, old-fashioned hug of a comedy that gets by ...
June 1, 2017
The plot may turn on a hoary comic conceit, but its plea for tolerance in troubled times is as welcome as the familiar faces in the willing cast.
May 31, 2017
Themes of religion and subsequent culture clashes are raised, but under-utilised, like My Beautiful Launderette but without the smarts.
May 30, 2017
Has a number of things gently going for it.
September 19, 2016
Dough is a little gem in this year's independent films.
July 29, 2016
Dough gets its heft from the mixture of the sweet and the bitter, and the possibility of understanding between the protagonists without sugarcoating their differences. It's worth biting into.
May 26, 2016
The tone is a bit all over the place, but the leads develop a nice rapport, subtle yet crucial messages about working and living in harmony are conveyed, and Dough delivers second chances, comeuppances and comedy along the way.
May 9, 2016
Dough is a sweet, feel-good film.
May 5, 2016
A culture-clash comedy at once so-bad-it's-good and so-good-it's-bad that it kept me laughing throughout.
May 4, 2016
I cannot think of a single sentence, plot development or performance in Dough that made me do a double-take, and I usually count predictability as one of the Seven Cardinal Sins of filmmaking. So I'm surprised how much I enjoyed [it].
May 4, 2016
It's all about as predictable as it sounds, but it works anyway, thanks to some snappy dialogue and the engaging turns by old pros Pryce and Collins.
April 29, 2016
Harmless, uplifting and heartwarming withing being cloying.
April 29, 2016
It's plenty warm, it's frequently funny, and it's loaded with charming performances, in particular Pryce and Holder, who vibe very well despite how often their dialogue feels forced on the page.
April 29, 2016
Pryce and Holder have a nice mismatched father-son vibe as the curmudgeonly baking whiz and rascal apprentice, respectively, and Davis is fun as the hissable villain of the piece.
April 29, 2016
Though Dough is often in danger of running off the rails with improbable and unnecessary plot twists, it is always essentially entertaining and warm in its observations of hope rekindled through simple relationships.
Page 1 of 2