Down the Shore - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Down the Shore Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 31, 2015
one of James last films decent drama with Sum twists n a lot of dysfunction going on in the family's involved
May 18, 2015
wow, the first film i have seen for a long time with such emotion and substance,
the actors are so believable and the plot thickens as it moves along with effortless intrigue. i must see again, oh what the hell i want it for my collection
October 11, 2014
Down the Shore a dark family drama about a family's dark past shared between two brothers a sister in law and a brother in law.
The movie starts in France with an American girl and a French guy then the movie skips ahead three months as the French man travels to America to visit his girls brother to deliver some devastating news.
Then the French guy gets tangled in with his girls families drama's.
The story is basic but a good movie I had my reservations about it but its all about righting wrongs and in the end love.
Go Down the Shore once in awhile and enjoy the view.
Not suitable for the kiddies as it has some adult themes that are not suitable for the kiddies and it can be boring for them.
½ June 3, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

(2013) Down The Shore
DRAMA

James Gandolfini is a great actor and this movie shows it. However, the end of movie doesn't know how to maintain the story's rhythm. He plays Baily Julia who while working as a maintenance on a nearly run down amusement park gets a visit from a French guy named Jacques (Edoardo Costa) from Paris claiming to be his sister's husband. The reason for Jacques visit was to notify him that his sister had just recently died from cancer, and that he was instructed to give Baily her ashes as well as a letter. Jacques who also accepts the name Jack other reason to visit Baily was to work alongside with Baily which he doesn't really want to do. And as the movie is progressing, we get to hear more surprising revelations about Baily as well as the owner of the amusement park, by the name of Wiley (Joseph Pope) and the woman who is kind of caught in the middle by the name of Mary (Famke Janssen) trying to raise their mentally challenged 17 year old son, Martin (John Magaro).

Some of the existing problems is that viewers may be baffled about Jacques motivations for hanging around with a brother-in-law who initially despises him. Baily does bother him about a load of money that his sister was supposed to have we're somehow kept in the dark about how Jacques even acquired the money in the first place. And what was Jacques motivations for hanging onto this money for such a long time for the movie kind of make Jaques into an artificial character who has a knack to get people to expose their private secrets. And it is for that reason and more which is why I can't recommend it despite it's good intentions.

2 out of 4 stars

grasp
½ March 2, 2014
Forgotten, neglected seaside resort facing out of seaside hardship brings weaves through the hard luck complications of three friends and a stranger.

Between vacated wooden properties and empty ageing seaside fairground the characters reflect a distinct lack of hope.

This sad and unusual story evolves as the characters past meets their present and their past relationships unfurl.

The French stranger clearly is concealing his intentions and the viewer is never sure whether they are driven by his dead wife's wishful intention.

It's a simple story if not apparent in the early stages but the film ticks along and the down at heels resorts' winter struggles give the film a gritty realism.
½ March 1, 2014
Low-key reflective drama on life and death, but perhaps too low-key as as much as it creates thought for the audience it also comes across as dull in places.
½ January 9, 2014
Love James Gandolfini, but this movie lacked something I just can't put my finger on.
December 28, 2013
Not a bad movie, just not uplifting and seems to plod along.
½ November 3, 2013
A surprisingly intelligent, multilayered tragic drama. The three leads are absolutely brilliant and take the script to some profound places.
½ September 21, 2013
Very strong performances especially by JG, may he rest in peace. It was good to see James on screen but overall it was a good emotionally sad movie.
½ September 8, 2013
It's usually a treat to watch James Gandolfini act, but this movie is so dreadfully pointless that even his considerable talents couldn't save it.
½ August 13, 2013
This is a hidden gem. Has some plot flaws but good performances, especially from James Gandolfini, sometimes was tough to watch, knowing he's gone.
½ June 23, 2013
Fine performances by James Gandolfini and cast.
½ June 14, 2013
Deeply emotional movie about friends and neighbors that grew up in a beach town in NJ. Acting was terrific Direction was average story was satisfying in the end. Goes to show that Big budget takes away the meaning of a film this small budget limited actors movie was spot on.
June 9, 2013
This was interesting movie. Deals with Domestic Violence
June 1, 2013
Kind of slow, but worth a watch.
½ May 27, 2013
Parts of this movie were filmed on the Jersey shore Pre-hurricane Sandy. I think this was a well done movie. Very honest, and a good portrait of how life really works. It is a slow moving movie though.
April 27, 2013
Great acting, but unnecessarily broody.
April 11, 2013
An exquisitely acted slice of down beat New Jersey life. Certain contrived plot elements aside, Down The Shore grabs your interest even if it does tend to get a bit confusing in it's final moments, that being said.. I'm still not exactly sure what various character's motivations were. If you're looking to get lost in some decent melodrama for an hour and a half then look no further.
April 9, 2013
I'm still waiting for Gandolphini to grab hold of a standout role so he can win an Oscar already. This a solid yet hollow indie with a great cast. Gandolphini is always really good. But the standout is Joe Pope as the tormented Wiley who has the film's darkest and most vulnerable moments. Magaro also deserves some recognition here, who undeniably is channeling Leo DiCaprio in "What's Eating Gilbert Grape".
Page 1 of 2