Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Page 2 of 13
August 4, 2013
Playful and relentlessly scary.
August 4, 2013
Leave it to Sam Raimi to breathe some new life into the genre most closely associated with lame sequels and lifeless remakes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 7, 2013
After a certain point, the movie becomes our own cinematic damnation from which there is no escape.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 22, 2013
In retrospect, I don't remember much about this film other than the gutpunch of the last scene ... but my, what a gutpunch it is.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 29, 2012
This is horror directed with a light touch but delivered like a hammer blow to the head.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 15, 2012
Drag Me to Hell is plenty frightening and the effects pass the gross-out test two times over. But this screenplay includes some signature comedic moments that play with the genre and its tired cliches to create something much more interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 15, 2012
Drag Me to Hell's PG-13 rating holds [Raimi] back from the all-out, blood-spraying gonzo insanity he reached with Evil Dead, but he still gets away with a surprising amount of gross-out gags.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 7, 2012
There's a necessary coldness at its heart, and I'm honestly unsure whether it's a plus or a minus. I'm convinced, however, that this big inner chill is part of the reason why it's still creeping me out just a bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 18, 2011
Raimi's return to Evil Dead territory is proof that, respectability be damned, he can still whip up a slapstick splatterfest -- albeit a PG-13 one -- when the mood strikes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 18, 2011
It could do with some more insanity. That's usually the only time it really feels alive. As it is only about half of Drag Me to Hell really hits that levels, but that's a lot more than we normally get.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 1, 2011
When a film makes me smile this much (you can't see, but it's a big smile), for this long (about a week) you know it's a great one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 1, 2011
Director Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots for this tongue-in-cheek gorefest -- one part spooky chiller, one part campy chuckler.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 27, 2010
Drag Me To Hell is a genre-buster; one of the funniest and most satisfying films of 2009, and quite simply a perfect horror film. It also has possibly the greatest final-reel shock since Carrie.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 9, 2010
Raimi took the horror/comedy by the scruff of the neck in 1981 with his no-budget, roller-coaster of a possession film Evil Dead...and he brings his big bag of tricks to his much-anticipated return to horror, Drag Me To Hell.
July 7, 2010
Raimi should go slumming more often.
July 7, 2010
While few are going to accuse it of breaking new narrative ground, it proves one of the most satisfying horror films of recent years.
July 7, 2010
Sam Raimi returns to his horror roots in the unrelenting and cheerfully macabre spook tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 7, 2010
Raimi mastered the art of the screeching, zombie hag in The Evil Dead, and 28 years and three Spider-Mans later, he's still got it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 15, 2010
Drag Me To Hell is the thrill ride Sam Raimi should be making year-on-year, not another cash cow hapless Spider-Man film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 17, 2009
Contemporary economic crisis provides interesting backdrop to otherwise simple and rather predictable horror movie plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 2 of 13