Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Giovanni Fazio
Japan Times
June 14, 2016
Drag Me To Hell is great fun in a Haunted Mansion kind of way, a spook-house designed to make you jump with fright and squirm with tension.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Scott Weinberg
TheHorrorShow
August 28, 2015
A bit gross, a bit silly, and entirely entertaining.
June 30, 2015
A fun, frightening blend of terrified screams and disgusted, gut-wrench laughter that aims to recapture the genre-bending spirit of Raimi's pre-Spider-Man cult favorites like Evil Dead II.
Steve Persall
Tampa Bay Times
June 30, 2015
Drag Me to Hell is a lark fitting snugly between the Saw flicks and silliness like Shaun of the Dead, making the gasps and laughter feel like something earned through ingenuity. Welcome back, Mr. Raimi. We've been lurking for you.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Andrew Hedley
Flicks.co.nz
June 30, 2015
It's gleefully gruesome, dead funny and hella entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Richard Roeper.com
June 30, 2015
At times I hated it for pushing my buttons so relentlessly and with such obvious touches, but I can't deny it: I found it entertaining as hell.
Clint O'Connor
Cleveland Plain Dealer
June 30, 2015
It provides enough scare-jolts to have you squirming in your seat, plus enough laughs to leave you doubled over.
| Original Score: B+
Scott Beggs
Film School Rejects
June 30, 2015
It all works. A return to Raimi's roots, a return to atmospheric horror, a return to fun filmmaking. It's probably the most fun I've had sitting in a darkened theater all year.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Leah Rozen
People Magazine
June 30, 2015
Hell is scary, but also wonderfully wacky.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Daniel Barnes
Sacramento News & Review
June 30, 2015
It often feels like a nostalgic exercise for Raimi, a blood-spattered deep knee bend between Spiderman sequels.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike McCahill
Daily Telegraph (UK)
June 30, 2015
Shamelessly resurrecting ancient horror standbys -- not just curses; seers and sťances, too -- Raimi clearly enjoys being allowed to return to the unruly instincts of his Evil Dead trilog
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Andrew Dowler
NOW Toronto
June 30, 2015
Drag Me To Hell offers lots of screams, gross-outs and laughs, often at the same time and always without one response ruining the other. That's a Sam Raimi trademark, developed in the first two Evil Dead movies and still fresh two decades later.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Lee Medcalf
SciFiNow
June 24, 2015
A frenetic, gross and darkly slapstick trip into Hell. Fans of Army Of Darkness era Raimi will love this.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Nicholas Barber
Independent on Sunday
August 19, 2014
Taking a break from directing Spider-Man blockbusters, Sam Raimi has come home to the gloriously tasteless, lowish-budget horror comedy he pioneered in The Evil Dead trilogy.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
August 19, 2014
O, joy, a horror flick that's smart and funny, as well as cringeworthy for all the right reasons. And up to speed on the mortgage crisis too.
Jamie Russell
Radio Times
August 4, 2013
Spider-Man director Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots in this yucky, energetic and consistently entertaining fright movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dann Gire
Chicago Daily Herald
August 4, 2013
The aptly titled Drag Me to Hell celebrates Sam Raimi's triumphant return to frightful and cheesy horror films that elicit as many nervous laughs as cringing shudders.
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
August 4, 2013
Drag's a brief, blunt and utterly brilliant blast of humor, terror and wicked satire; a trifle that feels like triumph, a dashed-off flick that blows doors off big-budget competition, and is about as much fun as you can have at the multiplex.
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
August 4, 2013
Playful and relentlessly scary.
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide
August 4, 2013
Leave it to Sam Raimi to breathe some new life into the genre most closely associated with lame sequels and lifeless remakes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 13