Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 13
September 12, 2017
If you're looking for a good contemporary scary movie to watch, avoid this one.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
June 30, 2015
Was I having fun? My dears, I was not. I was simply longing -- longing! -- for it all to be over.
August 4, 2013
The legitimately pleasing touches of absurdity just aren't worth the struggle it takes to make it through long stretches of apathetic moviemaking.
May 28, 2009
Parts of it are entertaining, although I'm not convinced they're enjoyable entirely for the reasons intended by the filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 17, 2009
Loved the ending, but very little suspense or horror along the way. A tired, conventional plot. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 26, 2009
The freewheeling spirit that infused The Evil Dead is absent here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 29, 2009
Drag Me to Hell? More like sauntering through purgatory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 22, 2009
I'm not sure I'd call it classic Raimi horror, because I think his very first films, the Evil Dead films, were quite a lot better than this. I just didn't really think it worked on the visceral horror level that he does so well at his best.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 6, 2009
Drag Me to Hell can't quite live up to the Evil Dead movies, mostly because it never finds a consistent tone. Not to mention, its background mythology is both totally ridiculous and almost impossible to understand.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 3, 2009
There's something fundamentally disappointing about watching Raimi use his considerable resources to just make more wonderful scat.
May 31, 2009
The movie is manic and gross, all right, but not much fun unless you enjoy watching an attractive 29-year-old woman getting punished repulsively over and over.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 29, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is pure cheese. Goat cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 29, 2009
Apart from the evocative title, which is a great nod to '50s drive-in fare, the film is as predictable as a meal beneath the golden arches.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 28, 2009
Raimi's fans will no doubt be pleased that he's whipping out the greatest hits. But just the same, it's the greatest hits package equivalent to Peter Gabriel's best-of album not including In Your Eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 1, 2009
Campy, funny and scary but the ending is a let down.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
July 7, 2013
After a certain point, the movie becomes our own cinematic damnation from which there is no escape.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 14, 2009
I really can't recommend it. Despite the fact that I support the idea of comedy horror, I do generally ask that it contain at the very least either comedy or horror.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 25, 2009
This certainly qualifies as an auteurist work, but I prefer my Sam Raimi diluted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 28, 2009
[The characters are] so innocuous, and they're played with so little verve, that you don't feel a strong identification when their lives are wrecked.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 27, 2009
The true test of any successful horror flick is how wretched it makes you feel. At the very least, it should inspire a banquet of dread or offer a canapé of anxiety. After Drag Me to Hell you won't mind walking home alone.
Page 1 of 13