Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Deborah Ross
The Spectator
June 30, 2015
Was I having fun? My dears, I was not. I was simply longing -- longing! -- for it all to be over.
Chris Stamm
Willamette Week
August 4, 2013
The legitimately pleasing touches of absurdity just aren't worth the struggle it takes to make it through long stretches of apathetic moviemaking.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
May 28, 2009
Parts of it are entertaining, although I'm not convinced they're enjoyable entirely for the reasons intended by the filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Paul Chambers
CNNRadio
October 17, 2009
Loved the ending, but very little suspense or horror along the way. A tired, conventional plot. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Robert Levin
Critic's Notebook
May 26, 2009
The freewheeling spirit that infused The Evil Dead is absent here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Christian Toto
What Would Toto Watch?
May 29, 2009
Drag Me to Hell? More like sauntering through purgatory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
July 22, 2009
I'm not sure I'd call it classic Raimi horror, because I think his very first films, the Evil Dead films, were quite a lot better than this. I just didn't really think it worked on the visceral horror level that he does so well at his best.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Stephen Silver
The Trend
June 6, 2009
Drag Me to Hell can't quite live up to the Evil Dead movies, mostly because it never finds a consistent tone. Not to mention, its background mythology is both totally ridiculous and almost impossible to understand.
| Original Score: 2/5
Simon Abrams
New York Press
June 3, 2009
There's something fundamentally disappointing about watching Raimi use his considerable resources to just make more wonderful scat.
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
May 31, 2009
The movie is manic and gross, all right, but not much fun unless you enjoy watching an attractive 29-year-old woman getting punished repulsively over and over.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
May 29, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is pure cheese. Goat cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
May 29, 2009
Apart from the evocative title, which is a great nod to '50s drive-in fare, the film is as predictable as a meal beneath the golden arches.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
May 28, 2009
Raimi's fans will no doubt be pleased that he's whipping out the greatest hits. But just the same, it's the greatest hits package equivalent to Peter Gabriel's best-of album not including In Your Eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
June 1, 2009
Campy, funny and scary but the ending is a let down.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
July 7, 2013
After a certain point, the movie becomes our own cinematic damnation from which there is no escape.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 14, 2009
I really can't recommend it. Despite the fact that I support the idea of comedy horror, I do generally ask that it contain at the very least either comedy or horror.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
November 25, 2009
This certainly qualifies as an auteurist work, but I prefer my Sam Raimi diluted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
May 28, 2009
[The characters are] so innocuous, and they're played with so little verve, that you don't feel a strong identification when their lives are wrecked.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
May 27, 2009
The true test of any successful horror flick is how wretched it makes you feel. At the very least, it should inspire a banquet of dread or offer a canapé of anxiety. After Drag Me to Hell you won't mind walking home alone.
Steve Biodrowski
Cinefantastique
May 30, 2009
[Director Sam Raimi's return to the horror genre is] a bit like a reunion tour by an aging rock band running through a medley of their hits: it's fun to see their routine again, but the magic is gone.
Page 1 of 13