Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

June 30, 2015
At times I hated it for pushing my buttons so relentlessly and with such obvious touches, but I can't deny it: I found it entertaining as hell.
August 19, 2014
O, joy, a horror flick that's smart and funny, as well as cringeworthy for all the right reasons. And up to speed on the mortgage crisis too.
August 4, 2013
Playful and relentlessly scary.
November 18, 2011
Raimi's return to Evil Dead territory is proof that, respectability be damned, he can still whip up a slapstick splatterfest -- albeit a PG-13 one -- when the mood strikes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 7, 2010
Raimi should go slumming more often.
December 15, 2009
The dichotomies director Sam Raimi presents within that familiar genre are what make this such a kick.
June 8, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is a sometimes funny and often startling horror movie. That is what it wants to be, and that is what it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 1, 2009
Truly, this is manna from hell.
June 1, 2009
This grosses you out but it also makes you laugh at how crazy it is.
June 1, 2009
It would be tempting to call Sam Raimi's Drag Me to Hell a budding cult classic, except its profitability and popularity may eclipse cult status.
May 29, 2009
The biggest howls involve the delicate heroine helplessly ingesting or inhaling bugs, worms, and bile--physical equivalents of her destructive emotions--and Raimi ends the story with the sort of black punch line that's become his signature.
May 29, 2009
Raimi's Drag Me to Hell does everything we want a horror film to do: It is fearsomely scary, wickedly funny and diabolically gross, three stomach-churning states that argue for taking a pass on the $10 box of popcorn.
May 29, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is pure cheese. Goat cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 29, 2009
The looseness Raimi allows himself here results in an especially joyous kind of filmmaking, the sort where the filmmaker's delight in scaring us (and making us laugh) becomes part of the movie's fabric.
May 29, 2009
Is it as hilarious as the Evil Deads? Almost.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 29, 2009
It's the work of a filmmaker once again drunk on the daffy possibilities of horror filmmaking -- and determined to share that joy with his fans.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 29, 2009
Inspired by the tone of B-movie scare epics of the '50s, they've made a slick, mostly predictable homage-pastiche that itself rates about a B-.
May 29, 2009
Apart from the evocative title, which is a great nod to '50s drive-in fare, the film is as predictable as a meal beneath the golden arches.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 29, 2009
A gross-out fright movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 29, 2009
This hellaciously effective B-movie comes with a handy moral tucked inside its scares, laughs and Raimi's specialty, the scare/laugh hybrid. Moral: Be nice to people.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 29, 2009
At a time when horror is defined by limp Japanese retreads or punishing exercises in pure sadism, Drag Me to Hell has a tonic playfulness that's unabashedly retro, an indulgent return to Mr. Raimi's goofy, gooey roots.
May 28, 2009
The first horror flick of the mortgage crisis, this is great pulp and Lohman is game for everything.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 28, 2009
There's no truth in the title. Drag Me to Hell is horror-movie heaven.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
[The characters are] so innocuous, and they're played with so little verve, that you don't feel a strong identification when their lives are wrecked.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 28, 2009
As in the best horror movies, Drag Me to Hell keeps the audience on the edge of hysteria throughout, so that every thump sets the heart racing and every joke earns a slightly out-of-control laugh.
May 28, 2009
If all you want are shocks and bumps and screams and laughs and a couple of they-did-NOT-just-show-that jawdroppers -- then Drag Me To Hell is definitely the funhouse ride for you.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is an eyeball-gouging lesson in how to make a genre flick and live to tell about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 28, 2009
The characters are solid, the shocks are grab-your-heart-medicine scary, the story glides from twist to twist with diabolical grace. And it's damned funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 28, 2009
Raimi succeeds at giving literal moviemaking a good name, while providing diabolic catharsis for many a disgruntled homeowner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
With the same twisted humor Raimi displayed in Evil Dead and Army of Darkness, his Drag Me to Hell is wickedly jolly and disturbingly frightening -- often at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
This is junk filmmaking at its finest.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 28, 2009
An unabashedly schlocky, expertly executed blend of jack-in-the-box jolts and humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
The wait for a truly scary movie -- for a rambunctious, slam-bang, all-out, slap-you-sideways horror picture -- is finally over.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is unlike any scary thriller in a while: frightening, frenzied and fun.
May 28, 2009
A near-brilliant comedy disguised as a quickie horror flick, Sam Raimi's Drag Me to Hell is the year's most frightfully hilarious movie so far.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
A junky but entertaining throwback.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 28, 2009
Raimi's made this "Drag" a race, designed to chill you, thrill you and give you an excuse to clutch your date's arm with each of the many jolts and jumps it delivers as it twists and turns to the finish line.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 28, 2009
Parts of it are entertaining, although I'm not convinced they're enjoyable entirely for the reasons intended by the filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 27, 2009
Diabolically entertaining.
May 27, 2009
Going back to his roots, Raimi has made the most crazy, fun, and terrifying horror movie in years.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 27, 2009
Going gloriously over the top, Raimi simply aims to make us laugh and scare the pants off us, and he hits the mark on both fronts.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 27, 2009
Raimi sure-handedly blends thrills with giggles in this old-fashioned, newfangled, over-the-top hair-raiser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 27, 2009
The true test of any successful horror flick is how wretched it makes you feel. At the very least, it should inspire a banquet of dread or offer a canapé of anxiety. After Drag Me to Hell you won't mind walking home alone.
May 27, 2009
Entertaining enough in its squishy-squirmy way, and the payoff delivers a little jolt of that old time Raimi magic.
May 27, 2009
Raimi, ever the engineer, takes pleasure in screwing with audience identification, shifting between collaboration and contempt for our heroine.
May 20, 2009
Scant of plot and barren of subtext, the pic is single-mindedly devoted to pushing the audience's buttons, and who better than Raimi to do the honors?