Drag Me to Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Richard Roeper.com
June 30, 2015
At times I hated it for pushing my buttons so relentlessly and with such obvious touches, but I can't deny it: I found it entertaining as hell.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
August 19, 2014
O, joy, a horror flick that's smart and funny, as well as cringeworthy for all the right reasons. And up to speed on the mortgage crisis too.
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
August 4, 2013
Playful and relentlessly scary.
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Raimi's return to Evil Dead territory is proof that, respectability be damned, he can still whip up a slapstick splatterfest -- albeit a PG-13 one -- when the mood strikes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
Slate
July 7, 2010
Raimi should go slumming more often.
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
December 15, 2009
The dichotomies director Sam Raimi presents within that familiar genre are what make this such a kick.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 8, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is a sometimes funny and often startling horror movie. That is what it wants to be, and that is what it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
June 1, 2009
Truly, this is manna from hell.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
June 1, 2009
This grosses you out but it also makes you laugh at how crazy it is.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
June 1, 2009
It would be tempting to call Sam Raimi's Drag Me to Hell a budding cult classic, except its profitability and popularity may eclipse cult status.
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
May 29, 2009
The biggest howls involve the delicate heroine helplessly ingesting or inhaling bugs, worms, and bile--physical equivalents of her destructive emotions--and Raimi ends the story with the sort of black punch line that's become his signature.
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
May 29, 2009
Raimi's Drag Me to Hell does everything we want a horror film to do: It is fearsomely scary, wickedly funny and diabolically gross, three stomach-churning states that argue for taking a pass on the $10 box of popcorn.
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
May 29, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is pure cheese. Goat cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
May 29, 2009
The looseness Raimi allows himself here results in an especially joyous kind of filmmaking, the sort where the filmmaker's delight in scaring us (and making us laugh) becomes part of the movie's fabric.
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
San Francisco Chronicle
May 29, 2009
Is it as hilarious as the Evil Deads? Almost.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Christopher Kelly
Dallas Morning News
May 29, 2009
It's the work of a filmmaker once again drunk on the daffy possibilities of horror filmmaking -- and determined to share that joy with his fans.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
May 29, 2009
Inspired by the tone of B-movie scare epics of the '50s, they've made a slick, mostly predictable homage-pastiche that itself rates about a B-.
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
May 29, 2009
Apart from the evocative title, which is a great nod to '50s drive-in fare, the film is as predictable as a meal beneath the golden arches.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
May 29, 2009
A gross-out fright movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
May 29, 2009
This hellaciously effective B-movie comes with a handy moral tucked inside its scares, laughs and Raimi's specialty, the scare/laugh hybrid. Moral: Be nice to people.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
May 29, 2009
At a time when horror is defined by limp Japanese retreads or punishing exercises in pure sadism, Drag Me to Hell has a tonic playfulness that's unabashedly retro, an indulgent return to Mr. Raimi's goofy, gooey roots.
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
May 28, 2009
The first horror flick of the mortgage crisis, this is great pulp and Lohman is game for everything.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
May 28, 2009
There's no truth in the title. Drag Me to Hell is horror-movie heaven.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
May 28, 2009
[The characters are] so innocuous, and they're played with so little verve, that you don't feel a strong identification when their lives are wrecked.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Dan Kois
Washington Post
May 28, 2009
As in the best horror movies, Drag Me to Hell keeps the audience on the edge of hysteria throughout, so that every thump sets the heart racing and every joke earns a slightly out-of-control laugh.
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
May 28, 2009
If all you want are shocks and bumps and screams and laughs and a couple of they-did-NOT-just-show-that jawdroppers -- then Drag Me To Hell is definitely the funhouse ride for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
May 28, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is an eyeball-gouging lesson in how to make a genre flick and live to tell about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 28, 2009
The characters are solid, the shocks are grab-your-heart-medicine scary, the story glides from twist to twist with diabolical grace. And it's damned funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
May 28, 2009
Raimi succeeds at giving literal moviemaking a good name, while providing diabolic catharsis for many a disgruntled homeowner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 28, 2009
With the same twisted humor Raimi displayed in Evil Dead and Army of Darkness, his Drag Me to Hell is wickedly jolly and disturbingly frightening -- often at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
May 28, 2009
This is junk filmmaking at its finest.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
May 28, 2009
An unabashedly schlocky, expertly executed blend of jack-in-the-box jolts and humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
May 28, 2009
The wait for a truly scary movie -- for a rambunctious, slam-bang, all-out, slap-you-sideways horror picture -- is finally over.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
May 28, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is unlike any scary thriller in a while: frightening, frenzied and fun.
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
May 28, 2009
A near-brilliant comedy disguised as a quickie horror flick, Sam Raimi's Drag Me to Hell is the year's most frightfully hilarious movie so far.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kevin C. Johnson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
May 28, 2009
A junky but entertaining throwback.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Rocchi
MSN Movies
May 28, 2009
Raimi's made this "Drag" a race, designed to chill you, thrill you and give you an excuse to clutch your date's arm with each of the many jolts and jumps it delivers as it twists and turns to the finish line.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
May 28, 2009
Parts of it are entertaining, although I'm not convinced they're enjoyable entirely for the reasons intended by the filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael Rechtshaffen
Hollywood Reporter
May 27, 2009
Diabolically entertaining.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
May 27, 2009
Going back to his roots, Raimi has made the most crazy, fun, and terrifying horror movie in years.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
May 27, 2009
Going gloriously over the top, Raimi simply aims to make us laugh and scare the pants off us, and he hits the mark on both fronts.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 27, 2009
Raimi sure-handedly blends thrills with giggles in this old-fashioned, newfangled, over-the-top hair-raiser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
May 27, 2009
The true test of any successful horror flick is how wretched it makes you feel. At the very least, it should inspire a banquet of dread or offer a canapé of anxiety. After Drag Me to Hell you won't mind walking home alone.
Top Critic
Scott Von Doviak
Fort Worth Star-Telegram/DFW.com
May 27, 2009
Entertaining enough in its squishy-squirmy way, and the payoff delivers a little jolt of that old time Raimi magic.
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
May 27, 2009
Raimi, ever the engineer, takes pleasure in screwing with audience identification, shifting between collaboration and contempt for our heroine.
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Variety
May 20, 2009
Scant of plot and barren of subtext, the pic is single-mindedly devoted to pushing the audience's buttons, and who better than Raimi to do the honors?