Dream Boy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dream Boy Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ July 19, 2014
I've honestly seen better acting in porn than in this film, which honestly belied any of the sweetness or nuances seen in other LGBT-themed films; traits that are better found in foreign, namely European, cinema. I didn't feel as immediately immersed in this film as I have with others such as Jitters (Iceland, 2010), Jongens (Netherlands, 2014), or The Way He Looks (Brazil. 2014). Even though Dream Boy is in my native language, and has a simple narrative, it did nothing to transcend the film into the ranks of other fantastic LGBT films-- however, LGBT visibility in cinema is extremely important and, at the risk of sounding cliché, any press is good press.
October 16, 2013
Dream Boy follows the life of Nathan (Stephen Bender), a quiet teen who's just moved to a small Louisiana town deep in the country. It appears that he has troubled relationships with both his parents, especially his father (Thomas Jay Ryan) who seems to become enraged at every slight move Nathan makes.
Nathan quickly falls for the boy next door Roy (Max Roeg) who also happens to be the driver of the school bus. In an intimate moment over a school assignment, the two teens admit their feelings for each other and begin a hidden relationship. It seems that this relationship is suspected by Nathan's father and also Roy's friend Burk.
The story line of the movie is average, but due to the awfulness and awkwardness of the two star's acting, the film comes across as cheap and unprofessional.
There were also times in the film when I was quite confused about what was happening, ie the ending (spoiler alert) was Nathan dead or not, why did Nathan's dad leave his body there when he saw it, why did no one notice Burke drag Nathan's body upstairs and rape him?)
The twist at the end, that Nathan had been molested by his father as a child, is similar to the exploration of the effects of child abuse seen in "Mysterious Skin," which would have been a powerful moment if it hadn't been followed by such a ridiculous ending! All in all I have seen much better gay-themed coming-of-age themed films and I won't be watching this one again anytime soon!
September 30, 2013
This is a beautiful and moving film.
January 12, 2013
I really loved the simplicity with which this movie unfolds a beautiful coming to age story. "Dream Boy" tells the story of Nathan, a new boy in town who falls for Roy, a school bus driver and student. Everything in this movie is very laid down, linear and simple. I loved the two main actors, the dialogues, the filming locations. Acting was really good, and I'd like to read the book this movie was inspired from.

I was surprised by this cute little movie. "Dream Boy" demonstrates how even the smallest movie can deliver a powerful, touching story. This one didn't move much from the starting point, but it delivers a very strong message, and it does that in a very beautiful way. I found the ending a little confusing, but in line with the rest of the movie. Many things are left unsaid and unexplained, but in this case I liked that. "Dream Boy" is a very peculiar, forgotten gem. Don't loose it.
June 1, 2011
If you see pass the flaws, some from acting, some from editing/directing and the cold unsettling conclusion, it is quite a nice film, the narrative is well - thought out and have a good contrast with very solid flow. It would made a 'larger' audience if it didn't screen in 2007, later or sooner exposure might have, in my analysis basing on the 'gay -themed/centered' movie trend and/or current. Wonderful scenic pictures and music gave the film an authentic feel of the period idea(70's), the early parts tumbled melodramatically and build up to the climax, with dark and vivid emotional drifting sense, and fall steep to the generalization, which probably would explain why most critics and viewers overlook it. A different style of writing(in movie adaptation), to where the end is not entirely unfinished but fell fast and/or separate(few major details left out/split) to be completely understood or unraveled, yet with the same purpose, to make the audience decipher it by themselves, or be a part of the story as the writer, figurative - meaning - wise, which didn't work in this film for all.
½ April 4, 2011
This movie has an interesting love story. It ends on a bad note, but you can tell Roy and Nathan are happy together, but they fell in love in a totally different era where being gay wasn't easy, I can only imagine. The actors have chemistry, that's totally there and it shows throughout the movie, from beginning to end!
December 31, 2010
This movie could have used a lot more dialog and a lot less dead air. Having said that, I thought Max Roeg was easy to watch; he has a very nonchalant ease about him. One thing they nailed was the sense of being in the 1970s. I grew up in the '70s and this film made me think of one or two hotties that Max reminded me of...the hair, the creamy white skin, the jeans, the laconic attitudes. Those were simpler times, less hectic, less frenetic, less...can be more, I suppose.
'Dream Boy' was a trip down my own line of reminiscences, sexually and otherwise. Overall, not a bad film, especially if you were a teenager in the '70s.
October 17, 2010
Adapted from the book by the same title, story about shy boy who moves with his family somewhere in The Bible Belt in Louisiana and falls in love with a boy next door, and has a secret that his father is sexually abusing him. OK until the very end of a film that are very confusing.
October 3, 2010
Bit of an odd film really doesn't really seem to go anywhere.

Starts off like it is going to focus on the relationship between the two boys, then suddenly moves on to the main characters relationship with his father and finally ends up feeling a little like a low budget thriller movie.

The characters don't manage emotionally engage you and the ending is so poor you just end up wondering what was that about and what was the point.
September 15, 2010
I wanted to like this but for me it was slow moving, predictable and topped off with a very unsatifying ending.
September 8, 2010
what a messy storyline! Just a waste of time.
July 11, 2010
Read the book when I was young, and I cried again.
½ May 26, 2010
Sweet and sad, with a haunting tune. Ambiguous ending, just the way I like it. I've never read the book but I believe the movie did a pretty good job.
½ April 9, 2010
I have no idea what was going on in the latter part of this movie. Not a very good adaptation.
Super Reviewer
½ March 22, 2010
Cliche but earnest story of a teenage boy in the rural south who moves into a new town and falls in love with another boy. A sweet, well intentioned and well put together, but ultimately reductive film that is drowned by its own lazy storytelling.
½ March 20, 2010
Alone the music in this film told me from the beginning that this was not going to be some normal teenage coming of age flick - and it wasn't. Although based on a successful novel, the screenplay for this film was sparse, at times spartan. It is more a visual film, which lives off of the emotions it exudes and draws out of it (well played) characters. Still, although the trip down the memory lane of the first gay romance we all have faced at some point is enticing and evocative in its way, the movie, I find, suffers at points in that it tries to be a hybrid between two genres and thereby doesn't seem to do full justice to either. Still, it is an emotionally strong film which is worth taking alook at.
March 4, 2010
Boy oh boy! Why all the gay movies are so hell depressing? This movie is lethargic, depressive and non-impressive.

February 13, 2010
The emptiness, stillness and calm within much of Dream Boy is suitably evocative of rural America, illustrates the isolation of being gay within that environment and also acts as a powerful counterpoint to the sporadic violence that punctures the film and the makes sense of the characters.
February 13, 2010
great emotional journey, on a roundabout. many gay people will pick up on the subtle emmotionally charges glances and hopeful encounters. a real non stereotype movie with great acting and beautifully shot.

a must see
February 11, 2010
A couple of touching moments but seen it all before.
Page 1 of 3