Dreamcatcher - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dreamcatcher Reviews

Page 1 of 9
December 10, 2018
Dreamcatcher isn't half-bad. Or even a quarter-bad. What it is, however, is sometimes meandering and confusing.
December 10, 2018
Perhaps due to the talent of everyone involved, Dreamcatcher moves with an oddly exhilarating awfulness that sets it apart from more run-of-the-mill horror films, which lack the imagination and budget to be so thoroughly misconceived.
December 10, 2018
Dreamcatcher is unspeakably bad -- and shockingly so -- considering that it's an adaptation of a Stephen King novel, from the director of The Big Chill (Lawrence Kasdan) and the writer of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (William Goldman).
December 6, 2018
Dreamcatcher is pretty much a special-effects movie, with uneven results.
December 6, 2018
Dreamcatcher is a horror, sci-fi fantasy, buddy movie, a military thriller, a mangled crate of X-Files, and a mass of half-baked clichés.
February 9, 2014
As soon as Morgan Freeman's alien hunter/military commander turns up, a riveting movie starts morphing into a predictable villain-on-the-warpath action flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 22, 2010
This Stephen King is way too scary for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 29, 2009
There's a great cast, and a great director, but ultimately the finishing product fails to live up to any potential.
July 30, 2007
Call me crude -- I have to love a scene of suspense built around fallen toothpicks and a toilet monster.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2005
'Even I don't trust my judgment anymore,' [Freeman] warns in one of the movie's trash heap of unintentionally funny lines.
July 5, 2005
An interesting story about personal relationships turns into an alien/monster/save the world story with some really gross scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 20, 2005
Those looking for a stomach-turning alien film may be pleased, but those looking for a smarter psychological thriller will be sorely disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 15, 2005
I challenge you to name a movie with a more convoluted or preposterous storyline.
Read More | Original Score: D-
September 20, 2004
What begins as a pique to our collective curiosity quickly degenerates into what is essentially a shootout between the good guys and the monsters.
| Original Score: 2/4
July 6, 2004
We have a long wait as Dreamcatcher cycles through pay-per-view, cable, and special edition DVD, until at last, like other inept King vehicles, it sinks into obscurity.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
January 18, 2004
Click to read review
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
January 6, 2004
A mishmash of styles and genres, Dreamcatcher tries so hard to do so much that it ends up accomplishing very little.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 4, 2004
Logic flies out the window, even given the fantastic elements, and the initially interesting characters are soon reduced to cardboard cutouts.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 3/5
November 6, 2003
Judging from this movie Stephen King has been watching a lot of X-Files lately . . .
November 5, 2003
This, a good movie? Oh sure! And aliens could fly out of my butt!
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 9