The Dreamers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dreamers Reviews

Page 2 of 136
Super Reviewer
½ July 15, 2015
Coming of age drama set against 1960's Paris. Nicely done.
May 16, 2015
A masterpiece by filmmaker Bernardo Bertolucci. This is the story of the political upheavel in Paris 1968 and three people who are drawn to eachother through their passion for movies. Great cinematography and performances make this movie a must for any film buff.
May 4, 2015
thank you for this movie
April 20, 2015
uh... I did not get this movie. Maybe I will someday. I have an idea but the end just left me thinking, "....that's it? What exactly was I supposed to take away again?" I'm glad Matthew acknowledge how weird Theo and Isabelle are. I watched this movie cause I love Michael Pitt and think he's hot, but geez, I didn't need to see that much of him! The movie cutaways kind of bothered me and felt a bit like pandering and gimmicky, but I spose if you don't get the reference it's helpful. I just don't think I've ever seen a movie blatantly show you the reference like this one did. I dunno.
April 15, 2015
The Dreamers is a steamy slice of romantic erotica that pairs the magic of cinema with the fantasy of protest. It explores three cinephiles' delirious passion, and how it fits with the turbulent political landscape around them. It plays on the human weakness to delusion, and its power to deceive. Fanciful and fiercely provocative, but short of a 'masterpiece'. 8/10.
April 3, 2015
One of my favorite movies. It's teeming with eroticism! An ode to the 60s, cinema, sex and first love. Yes, the incest is weird, as always, and the NC-17 is gonna keep people away, but if you love artsy, beautifully shot French movies then see this by all means!
February 21, 2015
Eva green is perfect; our aimless, rotten yet blooming, raw, rebellious lives are beautiful as hell
February 16, 2015
If the director meant for the movie to say that young people are retarded and, as Louis CK would say, 'a big useless zero', then this movie gets a 10/10.
Otherwise, it's garbage.
½ February 10, 2015
Watching "The Dreamers" is a real pleasure as it explores the love affair that arouses between three young people fueled by their love for the movies.
½ February 7, 2015
Bertolucci siempre ha sido un artista muy enfermo... me gusta. Solo para mentes muy muuuuuy abiertas.
November 2, 2014
"I don't want to be loved very much, I just want to be loved."
October 19, 2014
I should get an award just for finishing this thing.
September 30, 2014
So this girl told me to watch The Dreamers? because it was a "work of art." Well, I don't normally do this but because I care about some of you--never watch that movie. It's a bunch of naked young people in a apartment in France doing nothing except naked things....for 2 hours. If you're in to staring at naked people whilst speaking cheesy dialogue that no
real sane person would ever say-- then that's the movie for you lol! For me, it was the Cowboys and Aliens equivalent of bad movies.
September 4, 2014
Bernardo Bertolucci is a master of eroticism (i.e. "Last Tango in Paris"). "The Dreamers" has plenty of steamy sex and nudity (often explicit but never exploitative) but it also has a great passion for arthouse cinema. Because of Bertolucci's passionate direction and Gilbert Adair's script, references to many films are littered throughout. The movie highlights a time when people fought for the arts (there were riots in France due to the shutting down of the Cinemateque Francaise), but it also focuses on the completely universal theme of loss of innocence. Plus, the performances of all three main actors (especially Eva Green and Michael Pitt) are terrific. Be warned, though. "The Dreamers" is rated NC-17 for a reason. But otherwise, this one's controversial and artful, not pornographic.
½ August 23, 2014
I love this film. That being said, it has flaws. Because I am a true cinephille and a sucker for great cinematography, I just love everything about this movie. If you are a movie junkie and a fan of the La Nouvelle Vague Movement -- you will most likely adore this film as much as me. If you have a problem with erotica or nudity - you will want to avoid it. But I can watch this film over and over. By the way, there is a region-free blu-ray available from Germany. Most of the film is spoken in English but there are times when characters do speak in French. This Concorde produced Blu-Ray does not have English subtitles. So, the viewing enjoyment is assisted if you speak French. Viva La Cinema!
½ August 15, 2014
A pointless piece of pretentious pablum meant to be thought provoking and taboo. The only bright spot in this movie is Eva Green walking about in nothing. Even the sex scenes, which are not erotic and I don't feel should have garnered the NC-17 rating, are overblown. This movie has no plot and explores no real concepts. Garbage.
½ August 3, 2014
73%
Saw this on 2/8/14
A lot of things can make a film good and mentioning a few of them isn't justifiable. But they are not what makes a film great. For a film to be great, it should have a great ending, it could be a happy one or a tragic one, but it must be good. There are many reasons that make The Dreamers a good film, for example the love for the vintage films from the characters, the gratuitous nude scenes, which I won't forget for long. But it lacks the one thing that could make it a great film and you know what that is now. I hate films that simply end without producing a convincing ending, films that show just a tiny spectrum of the life of a few people and all. Dreamers could have ended well.
½ July 18, 2014
A nostalgic love-letter to Paris, 1968.
½ July 8, 2014
It's crazy, it's romantic towards revolution, it's full of sex, and it's completely, absurdly erotic all at the hopes of being a powerful drama. It's controversial. It's pure Bertolucci, echoing his passions that had consumed him back when he made his 1972 romance "Last Tango in Paris", which was also a victim to controversy (though I would find it hard to consider it as a victim, but more or less a friend to it). Above all, this is a film about us. The film buffs. We are represented by this film. We are the main character going through this world of romanticism in France. If you love film, if you love cinema, you'll find something in this film
Page 2 of 136