Drift - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drift Reviews

August 7, 2013
The acting is quite good, natural and fresh, and the surfing footage is magnificent. "Drift," though, is a weird mix, and not always successful.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 2, 2013
This poor-surfers-make-good drama from Morgan O'Neill and Ben Nott relies more than it should on toned thighs and taut gluteals. Be grateful; there's nothing to see on dry land that's anywhere near as compelling.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 2, 2013
I'm a sucker for films with great surfing footage, let alone wacky '70s hairstyles. But this overlong, cliché-infested Aussie period drama tested my patience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 1, 2013
Has genial moments, but they're lost in a sea of boilerplate incidents and prefab characters. Surfing sequences are easily as striking as what we see in documentaries about the sport.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 1, 2013
The leads are engaging, and Pollard in particular projects an easygoing, friendly machismo. Where the movie routinely disappoints, though, is in pursuit of a perfect storm of conflict story lines ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 1, 2013
Writer and co-director Morgan O'Neill based Drift on true surfer stories from the era; however, the movie mostly comes across as a grab bag of tired tropes.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 31, 2013
Manages to get a fair bit right about early 1970s surf culture when it isn't trafficking in the hoariest of David-vs.-Goliath cliches.
July 30, 2013
Not so much drifting as veering between storylines, Ben Nott and Morgan O'Neill's Drift often feels like a film with narrative ADD.