Drinking Buddies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drinking Buddies Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 8, 2017
I'm no beer aficionado, but I found Drinking Buddies to be like a cold, clear drink of artisanal beer -- savory with rich, emphasized notes while also sparkling with subtlety.
July 20, 2015
Every aspect of this film fits together nicely, even when the drama going on in the film is a little messy.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 19, 2014
I was a bit skeptical when I first learned about Drinking Buddies, because I did not expect Wilde and her cohorts to be up for the task; thankfully, I was proven wrong, and the actors go places that I would never expect studio-seasoned actors to go.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 10, 2014
A beautifully observed dramedy about modern friendship and romance; funny, poignant, unforgettable.
March 6, 2014
It finds its groove with sincere, nuanced performances and a realistic attitude to romance as refreshing as a fistful of Citra hops.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 10, 2014
For a film all about the betrayal of those we love the most, Drinking Buddies is a supremely optimistic, warm-hearted picture, with fine, freeing performances from its entire (albeit very small) cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 7, 2014
As much a shining example of an improvised film that works as an example of one that doesn't, Drinking Buddies is nevertheless a solid romantic comedy.
February 7, 2014
It's warm, witty and wise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 5, 2014
A touching, truthful look at how friendships work when things go off road.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 19, 2013
Funny, nuanced, relatable, touching, and an absolute pleasure to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 19, 2013
It's about what doesn't happen as much as what does. It's like real life, especially the beer part.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 14, 2013
...won't change your world, but it's a nice movie to have a beer with.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 19, 2013
The characters are likeable and engaging and the film ends up being amiable, if not quite winning.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 19, 2013
The actors are so casual it doesn't look like they're performing.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 15, 2013
The story meanders, purposefully, and doesn't lead to the places a similar studio film would go; Swanberg recognizes that disillusionmnet and disappointment are more frequent and universal occurences than heartbreak.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 8, 2013
As an exploration of a specific point in life, this film is authentic and observant. But it has a tendency to preach at us, overdramatising issues rather than letting them play out organically.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 7, 2013
If you're in the mood for a talky independent that doesn't look as if it's been made a by a wannabe Woody Allen, Drinking Buddies might just leave you feeling that your glass is more than half full.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 6, 2013
Small and earthy, this low-key drama simply follows a group of 30-ish characters as they use their friends to sort out their own issues.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 4, 2013
There are emotional razors amid the wooziness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 4, 2013
Swanberg is not so much kowtowing to romcom convention as putting great care into crafting something idiosyncratic, sneakily intelligent-and totally disposable.
Page 1 of 6