Drive Angry - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Drive Angry Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Benjo Colautti
We Got This Covered
July 24, 2013
Performances, especially from William Fichtner and Amber Heard, are great and the 3D is pretty solid, but that's about all I can say for Drive Angry 3D in terms of positive aspects of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 21, 2012
[Drive Angry 3D] ends up failing pretty badly as it doesn't even come close to being a grindhouse film or entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Shaun Munro
What Culture
February 20, 2011
With his recent glut of increasingly low-rent cinematic forays...combined with the blatantly obvious fact that he's only making them to stave off bankruptcy, Nicolas Cage may have subjected himself to a whole new subgenre of filmmaking - Cagesploitation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
February 25, 2011
Is it good? It's hard to say.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
February 25, 2011
A trio of stridently weird performances -- from Nicolas Cage, William Fichtner, and David Morse -- brighten this otherwise rote actioner.
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com
February 25, 2011
It was a disaster just waiting to happen, but the least Lussier could have done was make it an entertaining disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Martin Roberts
Fan The Fire
April 6, 2011
The film is saved, not by its star, but by a supporting turn from William Fichtner as The Accountant, an underworld bounty hunter stalking Milton's every move.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture
March 14, 2011
Like watching incredibly explosive paint dry.
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
February 26, 2011
Due to dippy writing and sluggish line readings, Drive Angry is never as cool as it thinks it is...
Full Review | Original Score: D+
February 25, 2011
There's a lot of balls in Drive Angry, and even some brains, but no heart
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
February 25, 2011
I can't say I enjoyed it. But I can appreciate it. It offends every standard of taste except bad. But it is well made.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express (UK)
February 28, 2011
Trashily amusing at first, the picture becomes repetitive and tiresome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jordan Farley
SFX Magazine
February 28, 2011
Drive Angry is such an outrageously overblown experience that it almost feels redundant to flag up its obvious shortcomings in the most basic areas: a hopeless lack of logic, dismal dialogue, characters with less personality than the average roadkill.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 24, 2011
The demonic 3D grindhouse picture isn't nearly as subversive as it thinks.
Read More | Original Score: C+
Adam Woodward
Little White Lies
February 24, 2011
Not the worst Cage film of 2011. But that's not saying much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
James Rocchi
MSN Movies
February 25, 2011
It is hard to imagine Drive Angry sustaining this level of trash-tastic hysterical hokum, and I regret to inform you that it does not, even with all of the above in 3-D.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Richard Roeper.com
February 26, 2011
So awful it's almost great. But no, it's just awful.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
February 25, 2011
I just wonder if these resources couldn't have been used for something, you know, actually good?
Full Review | Original Score: D
Katey Rich
CinemaBlend.com
February 25, 2011
A wild, messy disappointment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
June 15, 2011
A rather straightforward supernatural-heroism tale straining oh-so-very-hard to be indecent.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 6