Duck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Duck Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 18, 2007
...a thoughtful look at who we might be and what we can be, with just a little tenderness that remains embedded in the heart for a long time after.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 13, 2007
Whimsical, quirky, strangely endearing road movie - and certainly unique!
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 11, 2007
Possessed of one of the most hangdog faces in Hollywood, Hall meshes expertly with the movie's hopeful sadness. That we watch him toting a live duck around without once losing his dignity -- or breaking out in laughter -- has to count for something.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 11, 2007
There isn't much to it, but this odd little road movie from writer-director Nic Bettauer does boast a sincere charm, and fine performances from its two leading actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 11, 2007
Philip Baker Hall throws himself into the role ever so convincingly opposite his anthropomorphized companion in a manner reminiscent of Jimmy Stewart with his imaginary 6-foot tall rabbit in Harvey, and Tom Hanks with Wilson the volleyball in Cast Away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 10, 2007
The filmmaker is good with actors, and in Hall, she has a lead with such innate authority that you can't take your eyes off him, even when he's manhandling flapping waterfowl.
May 10, 2007
The strangest movie to reach theaters in many moons, at least the strangest since Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 9, 2007
Feature debut by scripter-helmer Nic Bettauer is a small, affecting road movie peopled with sharp vignettes.
March 11, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 30, 2007
We weren't particularly affected by Arthur's encounters with various strangers along the way. We think we know why: For the most part, we found ourselves watching a grown actor pretend to have a special connection. With a duck.
August 24, 2007
Writer-director Nic Bettauer can't decide whether to play Duck for tears or laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 23, 2007
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 16, 2007
Hosts a promising premise and some pretty interesting dialogue in spurts. But as the tail waddles across Los Angeles the originally agile storytelling suffers some bumps.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 14, 2007
A series of stagy vignettes that never builds to a point.
May 12, 2007
The movie is about as interesting as a duck would be as a pet.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 11, 2007
Much of the journey becomes redundant, and the film likely would have been more effective as a 20-minute short.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 10, 2007
Buried somewhere in this messy, strange and occasionally affecting film is an interesting idea -- perhaps even a good one. But what's on screen in DUCK also veers into territory that is precious and even boring.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 10, 2007
There are precedents for this kind of old-coot-and-adorable-pet cinema, but the director, a USC film grad, demonstrates little in the way of keenness or even sentimentality.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
Page 1 of 1