Duck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Duck Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 10, 2007
Buried somewhere in this messy, strange and occasionally affecting film is an interesting idea -- perhaps even a good one. But what's on screen in DUCK also veers into territory that is precious and even boring.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 30, 2007
We weren't particularly affected by Arthur's encounters with various strangers along the way. We think we know why: For the most part, we found ourselves watching a grown actor pretend to have a special connection. With a duck.
August 24, 2007
Writer-director Nic Bettauer can't decide whether to play Duck for tears or laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2007
The movie is about as interesting as a duck would be as a pet.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 10, 2007
There are precedents for this kind of old-coot-and-adorable-pet cinema, but the director, a USC film grad, demonstrates little in the way of keenness or even sentimentality.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
May 11, 2007
Much of the journey becomes redundant, and the film likely would have been more effective as a 20-minute short.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 14, 2007
A series of stagy vignettes that never builds to a point.
May 16, 2007
Hosts a promising premise and some pretty interesting dialogue in spurts. But as the tail waddles across Los Angeles the originally agile storytelling suffers some bumps.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 23, 2007
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 11, 2007
Philip Baker Hall throws himself into the role ever so convincingly opposite his anthropomorphized companion in a manner reminiscent of Jimmy Stewart with his imaginary 6-foot tall rabbit in Harvey, and Tom Hanks with Wilson the volleyball in Cast Away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 13, 2007
Whimsical, quirky, strangely endearing road movie - and certainly unique!
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 18, 2007
...a thoughtful look at who we might be and what we can be, with just a little tenderness that remains embedded in the heart for a long time after.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 11, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 10, 2007
The strangest movie to reach theaters in many moons, at least the strangest since Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 10, 2007
The filmmaker is good with actors, and in Hall, she has a lead with such innate authority that you can't take your eyes off him, even when he's manhandling flapping waterfowl.
May 9, 2007
Feature debut by scripter-helmer Nic Bettauer is a small, affecting road movie peopled with sharp vignettes.
May 11, 2007
There isn't much to it, but this odd little road movie from writer-director Nic Bettauer does boast a sincere charm, and fine performances from its two leading actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 11, 2007
Possessed of one of the most hangdog faces in Hollywood, Hall meshes expertly with the movie's hopeful sadness. That we watch him toting a live duck around without once losing his dignity -- or breaking out in laughter -- has to count for something.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 1