Dunkirk - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dunkirk Reviews

Page 1 of 20
October 14, 2018
This is a near perfect movie. Nolan has a master's grasp on the material, showcasing it from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 12, 2018
He's crafted a film that embraces its indifference to convention to express an abstract with resonate power and understanding.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
October 10, 2018
A historical miracle [that is] now also a marvel of both the genre and contemporary cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
October 5, 2018
Nolan throws you face-first into the action in a way that war films of its ilk have never done before, and it's probably the first time my stomach repeatedly clenched without any blood or gore in sight.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 25, 2018
It's all about survival, and the lengths you will go to...it definitely gave me more on the second time around.
September 25, 2018
I disagree with the sound design, which muddled up the dialogue...but, overall, still a great movie.
August 29, 2018
"Dunkirk" is an amazingly crafted epic with masterful direction from Nolan and a perfect balance of both visual splendor and good ol' fashioned storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2018
Dunkirk ends on the burning remnants of Tom Hardy's Spitfire, an emblem of the fire of the human spirit that rages wherever injustice might try to put it out.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 21, 2018
Beautiful and intense from start to finish, Christopher Nolan's Dunkirk is not what you're expecting. It's more lyrical than linear, try to hold on too hard and analyze its terse dialogue and intimated plot, and it will slip right by you.
August 21, 2018
Much of Dunkirk is unforgettable, a relentless ode to minor human victories in the face of colossal national disaster.
August 17, 2018
Dunkirk's pacing is relentless which is why I am glad this is one of Nolan's shorter movies, it hits the sweet spot with its score, set-pieces and cinematography.
July 10, 2018
... a fact-based disaster movie that, even if it didn't happen exactly this way, you can't help but feel for whomever endured it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 19, 2018
Unlike much of Christopher Nolan's oeuvre, "Dunkirk" is a fine successor to war films like "Saving Private Ryan," yet it tries hard in places not to bore its audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 2, 2018
At a deeper level it is a testament to the audacious power of pure elemental filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 2, 2018
At a deeper level it is a testament to the audacious power of pure elemental filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 13, 2018
I longed for just one moment where something wasn't perfect, to remind me that humans had made this study of improvised naval success.
February 20, 2018
What we're left with at the end of the horror, panic, and grim determination is a dawning sense of grace.
February 18, 2018
Dunkirk comes in at a taut 106 minutes, and there isn't a wasted second.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 24, 2018
Dunkirk looked great, had some scenes of intensity that I enjoyed...but, in the end, the movie was slow, very ambitious but very unfocused.
January 23, 2018
Movies need a script, first and foremost, and this one ... never quite comes together, though there is nevertheless a lot to admire in the attempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 20