Duplex - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Duplex Reviews

Page 1 of 6
January 7, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
January 26, 2006
The material is capably handled by director DeVito and lifted by Stiller, a dab hand at physical comedy who also exhibits some onscreen chemistry with Barrymore.
December 6, 2005
Danny DeVito is one of the most underrated directors of our time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 17, 2004
Contando com um bom desfecho (algo raro nos dias de hoje), Duplex representa um passatempo razoável.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 31, 2003
not since 'Whatever Happened to Baby Jane,' has geriatric terrorism been so creepy.
November 4, 2003
Had Danny DeVito been born British and a quarter-century earlier, he would have fit right in at Ealing Studios, the English outfit known for biting black comedies.
| Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2003
Occasionally, if disturbingly, quite funny.
October 10, 2003
The interplay between Stiller, Barrymore, and the elderly Essel is what makes Duplex hum perfectly at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 9, 2003
A controlled farce that finds its cast mining several big laughs while DeVito, the cynic, deepens the dysfunction with a final surprise twist.
| Original Score: B
October 3, 2003
Although I could have done with a few less gross-out jokes, the film is most definitely funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 2, 2003
Another DeVito black comedy in which one character tries to knock off another. Stiller and the 81-year-old Essel make worthy adversaries but there's really only one joke here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 1, 2003
Whatever can be said about the rest of the movie, Eileen Essel rates an unqualified 'wow.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 30, 2003
Essell is brightly malevolent, and Stiller is perfect as the well-meaning homeowner.
September 29, 2003
Duplex has its finger on something many of us can relate to, and it milks enough laughs of recognition to earn a moderate recommendation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 29, 2003
One of the most unnerving slapstick extravaganzas I've ever seen.
September 29, 2003
When a single look can make me laugh harder than any three films I can name this year, that has to be worth something.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2003
DeVito likes his humor black, no sugar, and you're getting more of that here. Eileen Essell rules Stiller' manic snowballing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2003
A glorious, light comedy whose ironic ending could be applauded by Neil La Bute.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 28, 2003
Duplex draws out the worst in us, making us laugh even when we know we shouldn't.
September 28, 2003
DeVito, with his affinity for human savagery and gift for laugh-out-loud grossness, has found comically fertile ground here.
Page 1 of 6