Duplicity - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Duplicity Reviews

Page 1 of 10
June 22, 2013
I'm sure if I saw it a second time, I'd find the little hints Gilroy plants throughout particularly delicious. But why bother? It didn't exactly grab me by the neck the first time.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 19, 2009
The movie comes alive almost exclusively in the flashbacks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 20, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 16, 2009
Duplicity is a double agent, a rollicking romantic comedy too deep undercover as a proudly convoluted caper film.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 17, 2009
Given the film's potential for glamour, sex and suspense, there's no reason for it to be such a drag.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 19, 2009
Duplicity is betrayed by a surfeit of intricacy. Its ironic complexities tease the brain without pleasing the heart.
August 21, 2009
You gotta be flawless to tell a story out of sequence. This ain't no Memento. God, Julia is getting old.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
August 25, 2009
The results are mistimed and misshapen, like Lubitsch after a vasectomy
June 10, 2009
Duplicity is like sitting in a two-hour lecture from a college professor who reads straight from the text and never makes eye contact. Do you know there is an audience here?
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 26, 2009
Duplicity is a lazy movie about corporate espionage. It's lazy because its director/writer Tony Gilroy relies on easy gimmicks and lame conventions to tell his tale. [He] uses techniques that might enliven home movies; they deaden a theatrical one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
March 19, 2009
Has a terrific cast, stylish cinematography and some intrigue, but the suspense and sizzle wane as the intricate plot gradually thickens.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.75/10
March 20, 2009
Like the carnal encounter with which it opens, it's a film that goes through the motions, and while those motions are frequently pleasurable, we, like Owen, are ultimately left disappointed.
March 20, 2009
A rather pedestrian, hollow cat-and-mouse contest.
March 20, 2009
I can't believe I'm writing this in a dumbed down age at the movies but Duplicity is a film that's too smart for its own good.
March 20, 2009
The "trust nobody" shtick wears old pretty quickly.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 21, 2009
A disappointing exercise in achingly-familiar irritainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 17, 2009
They took the lousy Soderbergh/Clooney template for Ocean's Eleven, Twelve and Thirteen and intentionally made this stinker.
Full Review
March 20, 2009
Essentially formulaic fare. Although Julia Roberts is quite good, the love scenes look exactly like what they are: famous people pretending.
March 19, 2009
The term 'thriller' might be overstating things a bit, although the slow motion battle between Wilkinson and Giamatti will live on in my memory for years to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 20, 2009
The script has so many twists and double-crosses, flashbacks and re-interpretations of events that frankly I just gave up, and followed the action. Which wasn't quite enough to hold me. A pity.
Page 1 of 10