East Is East - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

East Is East Reviews

Page 1 of 30
May 12, 2015
Compelling.. Funny in parts but also shows the effects of different cultures.
½ April 18, 2015
Superbly real depiction of a clash of cultures both within a family and in the wider outside world. Though set in the 70s to accentuate the cultural diversity, it remains poignant and impressively highlights the difficulty of mixed race kids in establishing an identity they are comfortable with in a world of competing peer and parental pressures. The icing on the cake is the genuine warmth and humour laced into the plot. It hasn't aged a day either, still fresh.
November 20, 2014
Straightforward and honest social commentary about how certain cultures conflict so much, a reconciliation may just not be possible. Funny and original script, mixed with superb acting. Absolutely loved it.
November 16, 2014
Movie night with Iris.

Not seen this film in years. Stands up well to the test of time, and really gets the 70s look spot. Pleased that Iris loved it.
June 11, 2014
A different side of England!
May 23, 2014
Wow! I loved this movie, very realistic and not pulling any punches.. The portrait of life in early 70 s Britain and council housing was amazing..A beautiful movie
April 2, 2014
By far one of the best films made in my opinion. Stunningly well-directed and the script was amazing. You always fear the melodramatic ending of such films but none of it here broke down into a mishmash of purposeful sobs for the sake of following some criteria for such genre, instead, you have a powerful, compelling story of tradition and where each character is in some ways immensely flawed 'cept for the oldest son.
February 23, 2014
Prova a far ridere ma non ce la fa, ci prova con tutti i mezzi ad esser simpatico ma proprio no.
Prova ad essere anche un film impegnato ma neppure in questo campo convince; eppure non un film malvagio ed essendo il primo film di questo regista io gli avrei dato una seconda chance (sperando possa migliorare).
February 7, 2014
The cast list reads like a who's who of Coronation Street, past and present with three actors starring in it. I found the humour a little bit too crude for my taste, but it was watchable enough. It was interesting to see two vastly different cultures mix with each other.
½ January 19, 2014
moving and very funny brit comedy
½ January 7, 2014
Puri is one of the most consistently excellent film actors that his country has produced. And East is East, a grand cultural hybrid, is a real movie, too - raw, funny and wonderfully mixed up.
December 18, 2013
Funny yes. Good story/point to the film? No
September 27, 2013
I am going to pass on this.
September 18, 2013
good period piece Pakistan mixes with UK in cultural identity drama.
May 20, 2013
Mildly humorous culture clash comedy.
April 17, 2013
Forgotten how much I love this film. Bloody lovelies!
½ November 28, 2012
Aka. FISH & CHIP, a UK film whose plot hinges on a Pakistani family living in UK, the patriarch is a traditional chauvinist whose only tenet is to do everything in Pakistani muslim ways, while the mother is English, with 7 children, the cultural collision and marriage-defiant headaches begin to aggravate the family, and finally ends with a drolly amusing farce.

From Irish director Damien O(TM)Donnell (his debut feature), this film emanates a great sense of humour (never pull it off overhead) and a whiff of theatrical commotion when the storyline needs it, supplying career-best leading roles from both Om Puri, who is deft in embodying himself into a highly unloveable character even without any preach-the-converted statement, and Linda Bassett as the chafing-yet-united parent, imaginably with 7 offspring (6 boys and 1 girl, age ranging from 6 to 25) to coping with, the familial disarray can dissuade many chic couples from children-rearing quandary, not counting there is a bigger hurdle standing in front of them, the religious disparity, Puri is an out-and-out Pakistani, even living in England, has an English wife (which is his second one while his first wife is still living in Pakistan), he rebuffs any discord and claims absolute submission from his family members, as long as he is still the man-of-the-house, even resorting to domestic violence when things are out of his control. As the most-of-the-time pliant, sometimes witty, but complete sympathetic mother, Bassett has her gut to fight back for her children, and her performance does has an effect of sublimating the heightened tension and brings about some excellent empathy which sharply differs from a general comedic tonality. All seven progeny and a handful supporting roles are moulded with distinctive personalities (with many laughable episodes to entertain the viewers).

So, about the aforementioned preach-the-converted argument, the film can be a tint offensive to portray Pakistani people in a quasi-teasing milieu (the two Pakistani maidens are rather wickedly selected), it seems the film is assuming the audience should already taken their stand (against the abominably bigoted father figure), clearly the truth is this fictional approach opts for its own British slant towards the muslim immigrants, it may find its voice in the island, but elsewhere, its acceptance inevitably needs to be tested under the surface of its light-hearted masquerade.

PS: My Oscar entry, Linda Bassett storms at No.6 in the BEST LEADING ACTRESS category.
½ November 22, 2012
Brilliant comedy drama. Very few movies have combined these two genres so well. My best friend when growing up was half Pakistani so maybe I related to it a bit more. I thought it really hit the nail on the head. Om Puri was superb as the father struggling to combine his Pakistani background with his English family at a time when second generation immigrants were becoming fully integrated in British society.. A real British classic.
November 12, 2012
Love it, I've got it on DVD. I loved this movie it was a great movie, it stars Chris Bisson he's currently in Emmerdale playing Jai and it also stars Lesley Nicol who stars in ITV period drama Downton Abbey as Mrs. Patmore
Page 1 of 30