Eddie The Sleepwalking Cannibal - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eddie The Sleepwalking Cannibal Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ February 18, 2016
a 10 min short bloated into 90 to its own demise
June 22, 2015
Really enjoyed "Eddie The Sleepwalking Cannibal". It's well paced with a few gross bits to keep the gorehoundz happy. Overall a fun and entertaining movie.
November 1, 2014
Between a 5/10 and 6/10, this would-be cult item runs out of steam after it
establishes its wickedly satirical premise.
½ October 13, 2014
A strong premise with some great beats. It never enthralls or pushes the momentum to far, but was worth the watch.
½ October 4, 2014
Quirky original ooey gooey goodness!
½ October 31, 2013
With a name like Eddie: The Sleepwalking Cannibal I was totally expecting laugh out loud funny moments sprinkled with the odd bloody undertaking. What I got was nothing at all what I expected. Eddie is more a black comedy then the comedy I was expecting and even that would be pushing it. The comedy aspects are very light and dry and as such, often unnoticeable.
The story itself is an interesting one and I did enjoy this joint Canadian Denmark production. I found the character development and even story development to be somewhat lacking. Essentially the film introduces everyone. Eddie kills. Lars paints. Rinse, repeat a couple times. End film. There was so much possibility that was just left unexplored.
I'm ok with the low amount of gore considering the subject matter but it would have been nice to have ramped it up a few notches too LOL
The film's original idea and comment on the art community are what keeps this film interesting otherwise it would be skating on thin ice and likely would break through and drown.
September 18, 2013
Great debut feature from an up and coming director--Quirky fun!!
August 8, 2013
Lars is a has been artist who was only big time after being involved in a major accident, his paintings were inspired by the carnage. He is now teaching in small town Canada. Eddie is a mute, his aunty was a long time supporter of the art school and now she has passed away he needs to be cared for or the school goes broke. Lars looks after him and finds out that Eddie sleepwalks, with a few surprises (it's in the title!).
Black comedy/horror satirizing the art world. Not as good as I was hoping and the characters aren't very likeable, the sheriff is the only level headed, decent person in the whole film.
July 29, 2013
If you watch this movie expecting it to be a mindless bloodbath, you will be disappointed. This is no horror film. This is a comedy. And a hilarious one at that. I absolutely loved Eddie's character. He was certainly the most sympathetic character despite being the one eating people. Come to think of it, for a horror-comedy this one was pretty thought provoking. Suffice it to say, I enjoyed it!
Super Reviewer
½ May 3, 2013
A fun little black comedy starring Thure Lindhardt. Eddie the Sleepwalking Cannibal is about a Danish artist who was forced to take care a mentally challenged man, it turns out the man is a sleep walking cannibal. However, the killings inspires the artist to paint amazing paintings. Eddie the Sleepwalking Cannibal is quirky, gory and tons of fun. Despite having only a small budget, every cent was well spent. The performance by Lindhardt and Smith is just simply remarkable.
April 5, 2013
I'm biased I admit, but this is a funny, smart and enjoyable romp through the frozen wasteland that is a Canadian winter. The inspiration for an artist, including Boris, sometimes comes from dark sources.
April 5, 2013
Director Boris Rodriguez succeeded in making me feel compassion and love for a cannibal! Quite an achievement! Funny and endearing in a bizarre way. Loved it!
December 31, 2012
Feeling lack of inspiration? Does seeing blood and guts motivate you, like our friend Lars Olafsson, the painter? Well, there you have it.
Silly, good fun--and blood! A pretty entertaining dark comedy with the magnificent Thure Lindhardt as lead. Definitely an interesting Canadian-Danish production with a heck of an odd storyline.
December 22, 2012
Denne var overraskende bra, historien hvertfall. Hadde dette vært en påkostet hollywood film så tror jeg den kunne blitt veldig kul.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
December 17, 2012
Eddie: The Sleepwalking Cannibal is a pretty creative low-budget comedy horror tale that relies on an interesting idea. Sometimes all you need is the basics to create a fun and entertaining g movie that is memorable and worth seeing. This is the case with this one. I found this film to be one of the most entertaining low-budget horror yarns since Rubber directed by Quentin Dupieux. Although the film could have been better than what it turned out to be, there is enough good material on-screen to make it a worthwhile viewing experience for horror fans. This is a good film with plenty of wonderful performance and despite a few lacking aspects of the film, there's always something to keep you involved, and one of the main reasons is the performance of Dylan Smith in the titular role. The film is humorous and entertaining, and this is among the better low-budget horror films in recent memory. Even with all its flaws, this is a good little flick to watch if you want something original and refreshing. The cast are good in their parts and with a strong lead in Dylan Smith; you have a well constructed movie that goes above its flaws to be a pleasant film going experience. The sheer ridiculousness's of the plot makes this a film to delight fans of the genre and it's a rare gem of a picture that uses creativity to go beyond its budgetary constraints to create something watchable and good. Director Boris Rodriguez has scored a fine little hit with this one and it's darkly humorous and has hints of old school horror with gore. This is what makes Eddie: The Sleepwalking Cannibal a fun ride from start to finish, and in a genre that remakes are dominate, a film like this is a necessity.
November 3, 2012
this was an interesting type of horror movie i liked it
October 22, 2012
Aldri smart å huse en cannibal. Handler om en dansk lærer og tidligere maler som får seg jobb i Canada. Har mistet gløden for å male, men denne kommer tilbake når han får en cannibal i huset. Tenke på at denne cannibalen har løpt ute i bare trusa i 25 minusgrader er verdt å se filmen!
½ October 13, 2012
Surprisingly good, a fresh view on what is/drives inspiration.
September 15, 2012
mmhh ok, not that gory, not that zombie
September 3, 2012
With a title like that, how could I resist! This is the first feature film from director Boris Rodriguez who, on the strength of this movie, I predict great things from in the future. Mixing horror with comedy is a delicate balance. Here though, equilibrium is mostly achieved. Humour is genuinely funny whilst Eddie's kills are suitably gruesome.
Lars Olafssen, (Thure Lindhart) an artist who's slipped from the limelight he once graced, takes a job at an art school in an isolated Canadian town called Koda Lake. He's been very unproductive recently, to the annoyance of his quote spewing agent (the wonderful Stephen McHattie). At his new home, Olafssen unwittingly finds himself taking in Eddie; a loveable mute with learning difficulties who's been left homeless after the death of his aunt; a major patron of the art school. Eddie is shy and good natured, apart from his habit of going on sleepwalking killing sprees when he's under emotional stress. Olafssen finds this bloodletting to be his muse, enabling him to start painting again. But will he keep encouraging Eddie's homicidal wanderings in order to keep up his own productivity? And how long will it be before sardonic Police Chief Verner (Paul Braunstein) catches up with the duo?
Casting for this movie is near perfect. Rodriguez wanted a natural star for the role of Olafssen. Unable to find any in his native country, he looked abroad and found Lindhart; who manages to purvey his character so well that even when he's manipulating Eddie into ripping folk apart, the audience still roots for him. Eddie is played by Dylan Smith (also known as Dylan Scott Smith). He gives Eddie's two natures such distinctiveness that sometimes it's hard to equate the Eddie smeared in blood chasing victims with the Eddie who sits quietly and smiles bashfully when his paintings are praised. Smith and Lindhardt are an effective team. When Olfassen deliberately tries to upset Eddie (so that he goes out to kill) it is genuinely unpleasant as we can believe that Eddie loves him. Look out for Smith in the 2012 'Total Recall', where he has a small role.
Another important character is Lesley (Georgina Reilly), who also teaches at the art school. She provides Olafssen's love interest, drawn to him by his former fame and how the paintings he's suddenly producing are financing the school's survival. There's nothing particularly noteworthy about Reilly's handling of the role, but importantly, she holds her own with the leads.
Humour is jet black farce and surrealism, helped along with some snappy dialogue; especially from Chief Verner. Only once does the comedy fail - the voiceover during the beginning of the closing credits felt too silly and at odds with the rest of the movie. I also thought the end plot twist was unnecessary
Interestingly, the original script had a writer getting inspiration from the killings of a werewolf he befriends. Rodriguez drew inspiration from David Lynch's high tone approach to horror and the performances in the Cohen Brother's 1996 release 'Fargo' whilst directing. If you are a fan of horror movies, or dark comedies you are almost guaranteed to enjoy this film. Rodriguez has been so taken with the reception horror lovers have given his work that he now plans to work in the genre again. Let's hope he does.
Page 1 of 2