Eden Lake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eden Lake Reviews

Page 2 of 117
½ July 19, 2016
This movie was great, after I hit the fast forward button and found the end of the agony!
½ July 6, 2016
Very disturbing and gory film that is actually worth watching. Clever script and decent acting from this crazy cast that has you feeling sorry for the antagonists at multiple points. The worst part of the film is that it is a little predictable but even when you know whats going to happen you still ask yourself why?
½ July 5, 2016
Fucking hated this piece of fucking garbage. Micheal Fassbender was the one bright spot in an otherwise utterly worthless film. His performance was quite good, but everything else was shit. Everything that could've gone wrong went wrong. The bad guy had the most irrational motive I've ever seen. If I had watched this on DVD, you can bet your ass that I would have broken the disc and burnt it in my backyard. This movie was so painful and disturbing to watch. The writer must be a heartless orc who only lives to hurt people, because that is the only purpose this movie serves. They make you feel attached to characters only to put those characters through the worst, most upsetting conditions someone can go through. I feel like I need a new set of eyes now.
½ June 1, 2016
happy children's day
May 27, 2016
Decent enough acting but nothing more than pointless gratuitous violence - torture porn. If you're a sick sadist and get off on watching people suffer then this is for you.
½ May 9, 2016
are u fucking kidding me
May 2, 2016
Didn't really know much about this, but I saw it had Kelly Reilly and Michael Fassbender and was from the director of Woman in Black so figured it couldn't be that bad, ugh was I wrong, i mean kelly and michael are good actors, and they arent bad in this, but it's an ugly vile movie, often just being repulsive for its own sake, the whole set up of just some punk teenagers being mad at this couple was stupid, and then it just goes all downhill, dont waste your time with this
April 18, 2016
Gratuitous violence i.e. torture porn is not entertainment. This film is gutwrenchingly bleak. The sense of forboding dread in the first 30 minutes is difficult to bear. You just know something really awful is going to happen and in that sense it doesn't disappoint. Once it did happen I found myself realising that life is too violent and horrible as it is. Why watch a reenactment of it in all its grisly glory?? If it were a true story like SnowTown for example then I could see the point but because it isn't it just comes across as very tawdry and sordid and I felt like I needed a shower after. The 3 stars Im giving it are for production quality and acting only.
April 16, 2016
Annoying, dumb main character and incredibly lame plot
½ April 9, 2016
Excellent film other than the lead female role, she was totally pathetic and could have save both their lives about 10 times! Very annoying
½ April 3, 2016
Eden Lake try to mimic #TheDescent (same music, similar structure) but failed to makes us caring about characters. We just want to kill them all.
It's a sick cruel upsetting bad joke about stupids kids torturing people who dies at the end.
Some maybe think that's "a way to do" cinema. Yes, I can cut the head of your mom and slap you with it and I say: "Hey did you like it?"
It's not cinema, it's an adolescent ego screaming at our face and feeling happy that he initiate strong reaction by the audience. I think Watkins need more slaps to learn that throwing horrors at our face is not that hard, any moron can do that.
March 17, 2016
are u fucking kidding me
½ March 2, 2016
Eden Lake: pursuit, persecution, violent death. i love it!
February 12, 2016
A very effective and gruesome thriller, especially for a British movie.
February 2, 2016
I liked the fact that the children are the killers, they have no pity for this couple and that's amazing
½ January 27, 2016
A very good British-thriller with amazing acting, but Eden Lake sort of gets dragged down at the end of the movie. I think there could have been a better ending.
½ January 4, 2016
I usually never comment but this is fucked up
January 1, 2016
I made the grave mistake of watching Excision, Inside (French film), and this one back to back to back. I have now lost all hope in the human race.

I need to watch a comedy next, in hope to stay sain.
December 23, 2015
I wasn't aware of the genre Hoodie Horror before but I am led to believe that this is one of the best of those films. It was quite enjoyable but the ending wasn't. I thought the ending was chilling and definitely not a happy one.
December 18, 2015
You will be traumatised, thrilled, appalled and disgusted. The ending is not acceptable, sorry no, give us a sequel with an explanation.
Page 2 of 117