Edge of Darkness - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Edge of Darkness Reviews

Page 1 of 436
½ November 5, 2016
Gibson is a badass and this movie was amazing.
½ August 7, 2016
Even though it has a really good performance by Mel Gibson, it is incredibly slow and Ray Winstone's character had nothing to do and could have ben left out.
May 28, 2016
I am not certain why this film garnered such mixed reviews, it is exactly what it is supposed to be, a fast moving action thriller, although this has an intellect too. Mel Gibson did a great job at holding all the characters together. And all the actors are well casted and due a great job. Seen this 3 times and will watch it again at some point. If you haven't seen it, then watch it, you will not be disappointed.
April 26, 2016
really enjoyed this movie no it's not oscar worthy but this is a good story well told and Mel was awesome all the supporting actors were fantastic too looking forward to seeing Blood Father in my opinion movies like this that slip through the cracks are the best most of what's in theaters isn't worth watching just super hero movies
April 16, 2016
It begins with lots of promise and some of the scenes are truly thrilling but it feels bloated with a lack of action and a unenthralling plot bogged down by exposition and poor pacing.

D+
April 14, 2016
82%
Saw this on 15/4/16
It doesn't try to be Mel Gibson's Taken, doesn't let the action do the talking, but instead flows slowly and rather sensibly. Despite the somewhat formulaic set up, the film has enough affectionate moments and the key actors Mel Gibson and Ray Winstone shine. Edge of Darkness seems to be a more realistic depiction of a 'father who loves daughter so much' scenario molded in an action-thriller format.
March 25, 2016
What a movie Mel Gibson really brought a strong performance and you bought him in this role. As sad anger father looking for pace even if it takes him to a dark place. I strongly encourage you to watch this film if your looking for dark, intense thriller and if your just a movie fan in general you'll like this Edge of Darkness.
March 20, 2016
As daring as it is forgettable. Mel Gibson returns in form as his typical wild card type of character in a familiar but perfectly passable thriller with bouts of very graphic violence.
February 12, 2016
Hear this one way be a remake, but honestly I couldn't help but enjoy it. Mel Gibson does a great job playing the role of a distressed cop and dad of a murdered daughter who was right in from of him, who has nothing to lose and a killer to take down. Something we have seen before for sure, but this one is enjoyable and fun to watch. Mel's good, but is a little lacking on the emotion, which may be intended but not from what I can gather. The story is standard police content, the search, breaking a couple of laws, some action, and their personalities. The big corporations that he's against pose a unusually large threat than just gangs and murderers. The action takes a turn for the most bloody right off the bat when the daughter is shot at point blank range right at their doorstep, and Mel taking down the big corporations employe who was trying to run over the girl that was giving him inside information with a car was awesome too. But the real best part was the ending, where Mel's slays his daughters killer and the big companies boss in the most fashionable and awesome way possible, then seeing him walking out of the hospital holding his daughters hand implying him dying of his wounds was great. Has some good actors as well as Mel, who all do well, although there's nothing extraordinary. Overall good movie, very entertaining watch, some awesome action scenes, satisfying executions of bad guys, and good script. Would watch again for sure.
Null
Super Reviewer
½ February 8, 2016
Good but not great. Edge of Darkness is pretty cliche and boring at times. But Mel Gibson's performance, well written dialogue and story is enough to be keep you engrossed.
½ February 6, 2016
Once the interesting mystery is revealed, Edge of Darkness starts teetering on the edge and becomes quite laughable despite Mel Gibson's exceptional performance
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2016
What a strange and varied portfolio of films Martin Campbell has under his belt. I've not always been a fan but good news is, I thought Edge of Darkness was great! Interesting to see him revisiting and remaking his 80's BBC miniseries into a film, a great move (although Green Lantern was an odd follow up decision). Mel Gibson is brilliant in the lead role and Ray Winstone is great in his supporting role. The beginning of the film totally took me by surprise and I was thrilled throughout - I think this film is somewhat overlooked, it is way above average for it's genres, especially of late.
November 17, 2015
good paranoid thriller
October 14, 2015
Mel is in fine form here. This is a violent revenge piece. Really good film.
September 18, 2015
An alright mystery/thriller that doesn't really bring much new to the table. Somewhat predictable in fact, I feel it might have worked better if Gibson was a straight cop instead of a bereaved renegade cop out on his own.
July 27, 2015
Mel Gibson is back in the lead role, with a vengeance, and i mean that in every sense of the word cause he is out for vengeance against the person or people involved in the murder of his daughter. It reminds you a little bit of the 2009 movie taken but it is a little different. Gibson does a good job at keeping up the suspense and there are a lot of shooting deaths in this, especially in the third act, but overall a pretty intense thriller with a good story.
½ July 12, 2015
Was just an ok mystery thriller drama. Nothing too special at all, feel like I've seen the angry dad seeking revenge on a dead family member before.
½ July 11, 2015
There are some powerful set pieces, but they don't quite flow naturally with the story when they happen. There's also a lot of sentimentality. An unreformed revenge flick, with a thin veneer of contemporary politics.
½ June 1, 2015
Left like it was a lot longer than it actually was, so I assume that means it dragged. As far as the movie, there were times it was really good, like the beginning, but by the end I was tired of watching
May 4, 2015
Fairly good thriller.
Page 1 of 436