Edge of Madness - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Edge of Madness Reviews

Page 1 of 1
September 8, 2014
Edge of Madness (Anne Wheeler, 2002)

Historical drama/mystery set in nineteenth-century frontier Canada about a woman (Devil's Caroline Dhavernas) who walks into a sheriff's office and confesses to murdering her husband (Final Destination's Brendan Fehr), and the investigation that follows. Enjoyable, if somewhat slight, and most of the relationships never quite rang true for me (the exception is that between the alleged murderess and the lead investigator); how much you can overlook that likely determines how much you'll end up liking it. Would have been better with a slightly less predictable ending, but you can't find many of those these days. ***
September 9, 2011
This movie is very slow-moving, but also quite interesting. I never quite decided exactly what happened, and most of the characters didn't come across as trustworthy or honest, but that was the basis of the movie's appeal. I just wish it hadn't dragged so much, because otherwise it would have been a great film.
½ December 19, 2010
Not much of a mystery despite being labeled as such, a period drama would describe it better. Solid acting and cinematography, everything in this movie looks authentic. Unfortunately the story seems to get a bit muddled towards the end.
Super Reviewer
July 20, 2010
This is not an easy film to watch. Life on the frontier is hard enough in the best of times and with people who behave with a measure of compassion toward each other. When the husband you thought would rescue you from a bleak life in an orphanage turns out to be a sadistic brute, and his brother is a sensitive dreamer, then the outcome is more or less obvious. However, the acting by Caroline Dhavernas as the young wife, Annie, and her fearlessness in a difficult role rescued this from melodramatic drivel. The scenery was bleak, the rest of the cast proved competent, with only the affectations of some pretty lame accents to spoil the atmosphere. There is brutality, but for the most part we hear it rather than see it. There is tenderness as well, and when Annie smiles, the room lightens.
June 3, 2010
All right...better than I expected, for whatever that's worth.
½ May 8, 2010
The first 20 minutes may give you the impression this is a low budget flick, but don't be fooled. It's thereafter the clouds open up and you'll realize this is a story rich murder drama that is well written and acted. I enjoyed this show from start to finish!
September 16, 2009
The film shifts from the present to the past so many times it gets very confusing and detracts from the films overall impact. The performances are very good and it does a great job evoking the look and feel of the mid 1800's. Well photographed, great and convincing sets.
November 5, 2008
loved it but hated the ending, plus corey sevier is gorgeous! I love brenden fehr but he was scary in this.
August 1, 2008
Nice and twisty, plot-wise. You really feel for Annie and even if she HAS killed her husband, you know he deserves it. Brendan Fehr did a good job making me hate him.
June 13, 2008
A wonderful exploration of what a harsh life can do to the delicate balance between sanity and insanity. Caroline Dhavernas is wonderful in the role of Annie. Good dialogue throughout, with a story that is well put together.
½ June 11, 2008
Hyvää draamaa, surullinen loppu. Loistavaa!
½ May 15, 2008
Was quite good, didn't lose interest.
April 10, 2008
"Ira Hayes....
Ira Hayes....
Call him drunken Hayes,
He won't answer anymore.
Not the whiskey drunken Indian or the man who went to war."
½ November 25, 2007
u can feel that time's hard life ... good actings ...
not an amazing story but there s sth real about it
½ October 22, 2007
Ingen grøsser, men heller et psykologisk drama. Ganske standard, og med medium skuespillere og regi blir det ganske uinterssant.
July 9, 2007
A good historical thriller. Good Acting and a believable story. Good to watch on a Sunday night. Not ground breaking but not a waste of time either.
March 9, 2007
so well put together.
February 18, 2007
5.5/10. The film shifts from the present to the past so many times it gets very confusing and detracts from the films overall impact. The performances are very good and it does a great job evoking the look and feel of the mid 1800's. Well photographed, great and convincing sets.
December 8, 2006
I wonder what this is about, i think ill see it!
½ December 3, 2006
really good sad in some parts but worthwhile to watch
Page 1 of 1