Eighth Grade - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eighth Grade Reviews

Page 1 of 11
November 10, 2018
It's like Burnham had the film tested for authenticity by real eighth graders. ... It ends with my favorite big-screen conversation of the year, a joy in its spontaneity.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 7, 2018
It's not only an extremely authentic film, but the directorial chops of Bo Burnham are quite impressive for his debut.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 6, 2018
Achingly honest, robustly witty and strangely tender, Eighth Grade is indescribably mesmerizing in its confines of adolescent angst and defiance.
November 4, 2018
Beautiful, terrifyingly real, and packed with more tension than most thrillers. I just wanted Kayla Day, and every teenage girl she represents, to be okay.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 3, 2018
Eighth Grade finds the healing in the horror of adolescence
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 1, 2018
A bighearted DM of awkwardness and warmth.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 31, 2018
A visceral, gripping tale, Eighth Grade captures an innate authenticity and sense of place within modern culture for teens and pre-teens both cinematically and emotionally.
October 25, 2018
Burnham has managed to make a film that is both specific and universal, a movie that has stuck with me for the two months since I have seen it and will continue to stick with me.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 25, 2018
Eighth Grade is hilarious and heartfelt and I absolutely adored Elsie Fisher.
October 18, 2018
Wondering if our plugged-in world is short-circuiting our most haywire years, Eighth Grade is neither alarmist nor condemning -- just wincingly sensitive.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 17, 2018
Fisher is the film's anchor ... This is an Oscar-worthy performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 15, 2018
If you ever wonder how a movie can be terrifying and chilling without being a horror movie, Eighth Grade is the answer. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 12, 2018
Eighth Grade is the kind of movie that makes you feel like you've stumbled onto buried treasure...
October 12, 2018
It's basically the Lady Bird for the introverted crowd, and almost just as perfect.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 11, 2018
In the avalanche of coming-of-age movies past and present, Eighth Grade jumps into the top echelons with a confident leap.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 10, 2018
"Eighth Grade" is not only a showcase for Burnham, it's also a breakthrough for lead actress Elsie Fisher. Together, they've crafted something that will stand the test of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 10, 2018
Eighth Grade, you'll be happy to know, is also very funny. No surprise, as 27 year old Burnham has been writing for quite some time and it's clear the director has pose and a promising career as a filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 10, 2018
Eighth Grade is one of the most sincere and authentic films of the year. You will laugh, and likely cry depending on the moment in the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 4, 2018
The unassuming honesty of Eighth Grade is allowing a change in the way teenagers exist on film, by letting every contradictory emotion finally feel vital.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 1, 2018
Hamilton's performance as the single dad, who is as awkward as his daughter, is warm and positive. Fisher is a revelation and plays her role painfully well.
Page 1 of 11