Eighth Grade - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eighth Grade Reviews

Page 1 of 12
September 23, 2018
Perhaps our premium on awkward indie realism is just a tad high?
July 2, 2018
[Burnham] smothers the story in sentiment, stereotypes, and good intentions.
July 17, 2018
It's indie-movie self-pity, served-up with obvious, preening social criticism.
December 21, 2018
Writer / Director Bo Burnham's intimate ode to early teenage angst feels like a documentary rather than a fictional narrative, making it just as awkward and relatable as its lead character.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 27, 2018
A fantastic and honest 'coming of age' film that does everything but simplify the stage we like to remember, but keep getting embarrassed about. [Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 7, 2018
A stunning feat of artistic empathy. No film in recent memory has so precisely captured the trifecta of constant anxiousness, horniness, and embarrassment that overwhelms the newly teenaged.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 12, 2018
Anxiety is only one click away.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 7, 2018
Eighth Grade is cinematic in the way every young girl believes her life to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 9, 2018
Fisher's performance is piercingly real--frankly the best performance from a teenager I have ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 1, 2018
A bighearted DM of awkwardness and warmth.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 4, 2018
Beautiful, terrifyingly real, and packed with more tension than most thrillers. I just wanted Kayla Day, and every teenage girl she represents, to be okay.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 7, 2018
It's not only an extremely authentic film, but the directorial chops of Bo Burnham are quite impressive for his debut.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 25, 2018
Burnham has managed to make a film that is both specific and universal, a movie that has stuck with me for the two months since I have seen it and will continue to stick with me.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 11, 2019
Eighth Grade is absolutely an insightful study of the current generation of teenagers, touching on ideas of insecurity, hormones, fitting in, and everything in between.
October 25, 2018
Eighth Grade is hilarious and heartfelt and I absolutely adored Elsie Fisher.
October 10, 2018
"Eighth Grade" is not only a showcase for Burnham, it's also a breakthrough for lead actress Elsie Fisher. Together, they've crafted something that will stand the test of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 11, 2018
In the avalanche of coming-of-age movies past and present, Eighth Grade jumps into the top echelons with a confident leap.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 31, 2018
A visceral, gripping tale, Eighth Grade captures an innate authenticity and sense of place within modern culture for teens and pre-teens both cinematically and emotionally.
October 10, 2018
Eighth Grade is one of the most sincere and authentic films of the year. You will laugh, and likely cry depending on the moment in the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 7, 2019
Eighth Grade helps fill a void of complex young women in film, but its complete disinterest in characters of color feels limiting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.58/5
Page 1 of 12