Elite Squad: The Enemy Within - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Elite Squad: The Enemy Within Reviews

Page 1 of 31
October 16, 2016
I'm Brazilian, and this movie is perfect! Show the reality in the Brazilian Favelas... This movie is a perfect movie!
½ August 11, 2016
Engaging and gritty Brazilian film about the corrupt politics of its home country.
August 6, 2016
Hard-boiled, straight from the street, & fast paced, the dialogue mirrors a "badass American movie", so it's easily relatable. Keeps you glued until the last 1/2 hr when it goes alittle soft by trying to squeeze in one too many points about how the (shockingly) corrupt system "works". Overall a great movie tho, would highly recommend.
Super Reviewer
½ July 15, 2016
Even better than the exceptional first movie, it presents an intelligent story in which drug trafficking in Rio de Janeiro is beaten but then a new enemy rises - a potential scenario that exposes a complex social cancer that goes all the way up to the politicians, including the corrupt Military Police and the shady interests of the media.
March 8, 2016
Subtitles (because I only speak English) did not take away from anything going on with this film. There is a reason this is one of Brazil's best. Don't miss it.
February 7, 2016
A little too pedantic and heavy handed but still fast-paced and entertaining.
January 25, 2016
O filme é simplesmente perfeito no que se propõe. Se os americanos possuem o seu Godfather retratando a presença do crime na sociedade, nós temos o Tropa de Elite que em minha modesta opinião é superior porque está íntriseco a minha realidade. A sociedade brasileira é exatamente como retratada, se não pior. A corrupção institucionalizada faz parte do cotidiano. Perguntei a um amigo que está na academia de polícia o seguinte "se você estivesse em uma blitz e aquele rapaz na mesa ao lado estivesse sem documentação você apreenderia o veículo?", ele me respondeu, "com certeza", eu retruquei "e se ele fosse se pai?", ele retornou,"não vou mentir...eu não apreenderia". Enfim, como criticar um filme que é o retrato fiel de quem somos?
November 4, 2015
The pace is quick, the violence is rough, and the visual style is documentary as Padilha hammers home his point: Someone is forever in the pocket of someone else as The System constantly adapts to protect itself. In South America, The Enemy Within is the most popular movie of all time.
October 27, 2015
86%
Watched this on 28/10/15
It's original was raw, brutal and mostly original, well the second film some of the nature of the first film, it provides a tension packed view of the corruption and police controlled mafia in Brazil. However, it also falls in the category of many other films based on corruption that it somewhat loses it's originality. The film is also well acted and competently directed.
½ October 5, 2015
This second part has a better plot than the previous one but, other than that, more violence without much sense.
August 17, 2015
This will be added to the list of sequels that are even better than the first instalment. Every aspect is served, to our delight, in bigger proportions. More action, more compelling drama, more disturbing insights and the enemy is ever bigger than the drug lords the BOPE fights in ELITE SQUAD - that of corrupted police and dishonourable politicians.
April 7, 2015
"Missão dada, parceiro, é missão cumprida!"
March 1, 2015
Simply put, this is an expertly directed action movie with a strong central narrative that, though it is certainly bleak and cynical, is more compelling than most others.
½ February 21, 2015
First off, why did it take me so long to learn about this film?
Second, how did I not know about the first film? This is a sequel?
What an amazing action/polical/thriller/drama!
The story is amazing. The location feels fresh and new thanks to the fact it's not a Hollywood picture. The acting is perfect in almost every way. This is an extremely entertaining, fast-paced realistic looking film that only seems to falter a bit in the last quarter of the film.
Highly recommend this film to anyone looking for a good foreign action film that isn't martial arts, asian, yakuza, or a period piece.
Now to track down the first film!
January 26, 2015
UNA PENDIENTE: TROPA DE ELITE 2. TREMENDA PELÍCULA QUE SE ASEMEJA MUCHO A LA CORRUPCIÓN DE NUESTRA REALIDAD.
January 21, 2015
Really good film, up my street. Do watch the first one as you really know the characters by the end of the better second one.
January 20, 2015
An amazing film in the vein of "Cidade de Deus" in that it takes place in Rio de Janeiro, has a documentary feel to it, and is crisp and fast-paced. While "Cidade" is a better film due to its untamed, breathtaking energy, this film still had me interested in the fates of the characters and rendered me impressed by the intelligent and likely accurate view of the exorbitant amount of corruption in the city's government.
January 10, 2015
Seconde partie du diptyque Tropa de Elite, The Enemy Within est beaucoup moins urbain que le premier opus mais beaucoup plus porté sur la politique. Malheureusement, cela simplifie une intrigue qui désigne très vite un bad guy et qui s'y tient au bout d'une demi-heure. C'est dommage, car le premier acte avec Seu Jorge est époustouflant. Il n'empêche que Wagner Moura est toujours aussi génial, qu'Andre Ramiro toujours aussi charismatique et la mise en scène de Jose Padilha toujours aussi enragée, musclée et rythmée. On attend peut-être trop de The Enemy Within car le film reste admirable. Simplement moins bon que le premier opus.
½ January 4, 2015
Impresionante! Deja al descubierto la realidad de la violencia en Rio.
Aplicable a varias realidades adyacentes.
January 4, 2015
Thick plot about dirty politicians, militias, law enforcement, drugs, crime, power, politics, slums... all the makings of a juicy story!
Page 1 of 31