E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial Reviews

Page 1 of 7
January 24, 2003
I doubt if the public that fell so much in love with this cute Disney-like tale had looked too deeply at this religious parable and examined how overwrought and crude it really is.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 4, 2007
More than the work of any other filmmaker, Spielberg's output seems uniquely designed to induce in me this queasy false-memory syndrome.
May 29, 2018
Spielberg has crafted with warmth and humor a simple fantasy that works so superbly on so many levels that it will surely attract masses of moviegoers from all demographics.
January 3, 2018
It lifts you into its make-believe in the wonderfully enriching way that only movies can do. I wouldn't be surprised if 'E.T.' eventually turned into the kind of durable classic that can be revived indefinitely for future generations.
January 13, 2016
Without a doubt, I can say this is a masterpiece. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 24, 2002
Forsaking the overload of special effects and high adventure that marked his previous successes to focus instead on a small story propelled by heart and imagination, Spielberg has made a film that will touch audiences for years to come.
February 8, 2018
The marvel of this extraordinary movie is that it captures for even the most jaded grownup that pleasurable state of innocence and awe that only children are fortunate enough to experience.
January 26, 2006
Although conclusively demonstrating Spielberg's preeminence as the popular artist of his time, E.T. finally seems a less impressive film than Close Encounters.
August 1, 2015
Spielberg would seem to be groping towards a virtual theology of space, space as Heaven, offering solace to a world which has foolishly renounced its traditional God but still aches to extend its own spiritual frontiers.
January 30, 2018
Spielberg works well with children, but never before has he directed them with such reticence or such appreciation of their humor, intelligence and decency.
September 11, 2017
With a touching relationship at the core of its compelling narrative, along with a brilliant score and nostalgic special effects, E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial remains one of director Steven Spielberg's most beloved films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 19, 2015
It is a hugely enjoyable romp, but compellingly spiked throughout with little stabs of anxiety.
May 20, 2014
E.T. remains Spielberg's finest demonstration of his ability to merge the feelings of suburban dissatisfaction - alienation, if you will - that permeates a lot of his work, with a unique sense of childhood wonder and imagination
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 5, 2003
Come 2022, I'm sure I'll be seeing it again with my kids.
May 30, 2002
To dismiss an artist the caliber of Spielberg solely on the accusation of treacly sentimentalism is to dismiss the great American poets of our history.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 1, 2000
Spielberg left it open for all of us. That's the sign of a great filmmaker: He only explains what he has to explain.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 4, 2007
On inherent merit, the movie would not warrant such a highly publicized re-release, but this is one of those films that transcends what's on the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2002
This is an outstanding family movie, with themes of loyalty, friendship, trust, and caring. One of the most purely magical scenes in the history of film is when Elliott's bicycle lifts off up into the sky.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
September 30, 2005
It's a simple beautiful story about loneliness, friendship, and the bittersweet pangs of childhood.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 29, 2015
There are many big moments in E.T., but also plenty of magical small ones that make it work after all these years.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 7