Everybody Wants Some!! Reviews

Page 1 of 12
July 27, 2020
Linklater presents more of an indictment of nostalgia than a tribute at its alter, moments to be celebrated without needing to long for their return.
July 3, 2020
Bouncy, brash, and charming, I enjoyed "Everybody Wants Some!!" though I don't expect I'll ever think about it again.
June 26, 2020
The fun that springs from the heart of Everybody Wants Some's story it's a sign that director Richard Linklater has fallen in love with his youth. [Full review in Spanish]
May 1, 2020
My issue with this film is that it shouldn't exist.
May 1, 2020
My biggest problem with this movie is I hated every single person in it.
April 4, 2020
In Everybody Wants Some!!, Linklater hints at something different: the notion that competitiveness at this level is a quirk at best and a sort of madness at worst, a deeply compulsive behavior...
April 1, 2020
It's a coming of age story, a love letter to a bygone era, and a reclamation of adolescent masculinity from a cruel grasp of "bro" culture. It's also a damn fine comedy.
January 20, 2020
It's funny as hell. It's precisely the right amount of raunchy. It's got a darn good soundtrack. It's a further study of time from a filmmaker eternally fascinated by the subject.
January 13, 2020
It's all pleasant enough, but after the triumph of 2014's Boyhood, it kind of feels like Linklater's phoning it in on this one.
December 3, 2019
It's this giddy whimsy that makes Everybody Wants Some!! so damned likable.
October 22, 2019
It's so much deeper than the beer and bong water it's steeped in.
October 16, 2019
With this movie, [Richard] Linklater proves he can hit the curve ball.
April 20, 2019
Affectionate time capsule though it might be, Linklater's film employs his detailed knowledge of the period to illuminate a truth about the narrow corridor between being a child and being a parent.
April 12, 2019
I'll repeat- I liked spending time with these guys.
April 3, 2019
Subtle as a baseball to the head, Boyhood's successor can be as insufferable as its heinously punctuated title...
March 30, 2019
EVERYBODY WANTS SOME!! may lack the subtlety and richness of Linklater's best work, but it remains an incredibly exhilarating film that will leave you with warm feelings of nostalgia.
February 21, 2019
Living with Linklater's characters as they explore life, unsupervised, without inhibition, engages the heart and takes you back to a freewheeling, optimistic state of mind and body that many of us let go of a long time ago.
December 7, 2018
It's a rare director that can revisit a formula that he aced more than two decades ago and still manage to deliver something fresh, let alone fun.
November 4, 2018
Linklater's a genius at concretising what are almost intangible sentiments and in tapping into a certain temporal truth about life.
October 17, 2018
So much of the dialogue is eye-rollingly immature and yet it's still so very authentic. Even the actual baseball in the film moves at a refreshingly slow and natural pace.
Page 1 of 12