Evil Roy Slade - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Evil Roy Slade Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 27, 2015
Love this movie. Have been looking for it forever.
August 20, 2014
Just Great, get it, watch it, laugh at it, enjoy it. BRAVO
½ April 12, 2014
Great movie. Hilarious one-liners. It was Airplane before Airplane was cool. Not sophisticated, just a laugh almost every minute.
September 13, 2012
my kid loved this one. not as funny as blazing saddles but has the same sense of humor.
September 2, 2012
120831: I laughed a couple times. This film is pretty bad, or pretty dated, or just not funny. I won't totally trash it however.
½ May 8, 2012
One of the best movies nobody saw. I would love to see it again.
Super Reviewer
½ June 16, 2010
They definitely dont make Made For TV movies like they use to!!!
April 4, 2010
John Austin looks like "Adams Family" patriarch Gomez Adams decked out
from hat to toe in a solid black outfit in director Jerry Paris'
made-for-television western farce "Evil Roy Slade" as the eponymous
desperado who struggles to go straight after he falls in love with a
beautiful woman of virtue. Writers Jerry Belson and "Pretty Woman's"
Garry Marshall manage to contrive some amusing situations with
shameless gags. Everything in "Evil Roy Slade," however, isn't always
shameless. Nevertheless, you suspect these tongue-in-cheek scribes must have been searching something different when they promoted the villain to the status of the hero. Austin is in top-form as the dastardly outlaw. Comedian Dick Shawn cuts a quite figure as Marshal Bing Bell, a singing cowpoke with a guitar that conceals a rifle with which he is an
excellent marksman. Bing dangles a tiny bell from his right earlobe.
The running gag is that whenever anybody says Bing Bell, the other
person mistakenly thinks that they are referring to the chimes of a
door bell. No, it's not as hilarious as the old lady's name, Frau
Bl├╝cher, in "Young Frankenstein," but Belson and Marshall deserve
credit for a full-fledged effort. By this time, television had gotten
around to acknowledging the presence of gay men, and the characters
here make two references to them as "funny boys." Although this goofy,
lowbrow western is predictable, "Evil Roy Slade" has its side-splitting
seconds.

Evil Roy Slade (John Austin of "The Adams Family") and his ruffians are
robbing a bank when our anti-heroic hero encounters beautiful Betsy
Potter (Pamela Austin of "Rome Adventure") and plants a big wet one on
her moist, pretty lips. Suddenly, everything changes for Roy. Roy wants
Betsy almost as much as he embraces evil. Roy and his gang set out to
rob the stagecoach, and Flossie (Edie Adams of "The Apartment") turns
informant when he ditches her to conclude his career as an outlaw. Roy
and company discover her treachery when they try to rob a stagecoach
jammed with an army of lawmen, including midgets on the roof. One of
these tykes, (Billy Curtis of "High Plains Drifter") springs out of a
box to tackle Roy. The posse captures Roy, locks him up, and the court
sentences him to swing. Beleaguered railroad president Nelson Stool
(Mike Rooney of "The Secret Invasion"), who Roy and his gang have been
preying on mercilessly for years, leaves his drooling bulldog to guard
Roy as well as his incompetent relative, Clifford Stool (Henry Gibson
of "The Long Goodbye"). Stool has tied Roy's hands behind his back so
that Roy cannot escape. Shrewdly, Roy plays of the hunger of the
starving dog, drenches his bonds with gravy, and the dog gnaws through
them and Roy escapes. Eventually, Roy succumbs to Betsy's charms and
they move to Boston where he visit a shrink Logan Delp (Dom DeLuise of
"Blazing Saddles") and can walk around without his hardware. Roy ends
up selling shoes for Uncle Harry Fern (Milton Berle of "Whispering
Ghosts") and becomes rather adept at it. Temptation overwhelms our
protagonist when Harry entrusts Roy with lugging two bulging bags of
currency to the Boston Bank. Roy delivers the loot but then purloins
the bank guard's revolver and holds up the bank. The front page
newspaper story reveals that Roy is heading back east. The elder Stool
finally persuades Marshal Bell to intervene.

Some of the priceless gags occur when Roy strolls up the street in a
western town during an early scene. He triggers shots into the ground
at the toes of an invalid (Leonard Barr of "Diamonds Are Forever")whose
legs are encased in plaster and relies on crutches to walk. Roy takes
an elderly woman's shawl from her shoulders as she is poised to cross a
muddy street and lays the shawl on the muddy spot. Instead of waiting
for the old woman to lead off, Roy tramps on it as he goes his merry
way. A woman sitting on a horse extends her hand so that Roy may help
her descend from the steed. Instead, Roy pulls her off the pony and
appropriates it for himself. At one point, when he announces his
impending retirement from the gang, Roy passes out autographed wantedposters of himself. Happily, "Evil Roy Slade" makes the grade, especially with its big finale in the church at Betsy's wedding where everybody winds up brandishing a six-gun. John Austin radiates evil like the dastard that he plays would and Dick Shawn is funny at Bing Bell.
December 1, 2009
This movie makes me laugh. It is dumb humor, but sometimes that is exactly what I need to turn my day around.
November 24, 2009
It's a campy western. who wouldn't love it?
Super Reviewer
½ October 5, 2009
Pretty good, but also kinda disappointing. I guess I've just heard so much about this movie that I was expecting a lot more from it. On a side note, though, John Astin makes me laugh so much here--his character looks ridiculous and insane at the same, and his laugh is really comical. The problem with this film is that the writers tried to focus on having a story way too much, and that took away from the movie as a whole.
½ September 8, 2009
I think the greatest made for TV movie ever!..hilarious!..laugh just as hard every time i see it!
August 30, 2009
The best!!!!
Dick shawn is a riot!!!
July 27, 2009
A fav as a kid, but not as funny as I remember. Luv JAstin always.
½ July 16, 2009
Predates BLAZING SADDLES and possibly outdoes it, thanks in large part to great performances by John Astin (as Slade) and Dick Shawn. A fast-paced zinger-heavy gag-laden comedy classic!
May 19, 2009
Probably the earliest spoof of its nature that I know of. It's a mixture of funny and lame, but hey, it's not a bad way to pass an hour and a half.

Personal enjoyment: 6/10
Actual quality as a film: 5/10
March 30, 2009
Best comedy western ever, similar to Blazing Saddles only Better
March 9, 2009
Oh my gosh! My mom got me onto to this movie. Its old but gold.
½ February 16, 2009
Usually funny but occasionally mediocre. Some thing are just straight up hilarious.
Page 1 of 2