Expired - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Expired Reviews

Page 1 of 5
May 8, 2015
I'm always surprised to note that so many disliked this film upon it's release. Truly off-beat and quirky, it is also a painfully uncomfortable and entertaining story of two characters who do not know how to inter-connect or connect with anyone. Despite what some have written, this film is realistic. And, Samantha Morton is amazing.
September 21, 2013
I just watched it and think it's mostly about not entering into or committing to an abusive relationship - mutually consenting or not. This is a terrifically observed masterpiece. Exceptionally nuanced performance from the abusive and emotionally depraved would-be boyfriend - and Morton never does anything wrong in my book. I found it excruciating and honest. Loved it - probably subjectively yet still....
½ September 15, 2013
Kooky. Just as I like it.
August 23, 2013
I am going to pass on this one.
February 6, 2013
Pathetic and depressing "love story".. almost painful to watch, with axcelent performances by Samantha Morton and Jason Patrick..
May 29, 2011
Claire Barney (Samantha Morton) is a metermaid in Los Angeles. She is kind, but a bit lonesome and odd. She takes care of her mother, who suffers from a stroke and has lost her speech. One day Claire bumps into parking officer Jay Caswell (Jason Patric). A man with severe anger and frustration issues and on the border of being a sociopath. Eventually the mismatched couple end up in a very disfunctional and turbulent love situation.

Never been a fan of Samantha Morton, but both she and Jason Patric gives fine performances in "Expired". I like how the movie has been shot, with a lot of odd angles and closeups. The disfunctional dynamics between Claire and Jay made me cringe and stress me. Thus, the actors really succeeded to give life to their characters. "Expired" is not too shabby at all.
February 22, 2011
It's hard to spot the dominant genre in this seemingly offbeat romantic comedy, although some darker issues are explored. Nevertheless the strength of the main characters means this is one where you do care for seeing how their relationship develops.
February 17, 2011
Described as a romance, well really it isn't. A comedy? - not entirely. Indie it certainly is, and a study in dysfunction. The joys of living in LA. It made me uncomfortable, as I recognised in myself the kinds of bad behaviour which the male lead was portraying, magnified. Claire, the female central character, is excellent. Decent, despite the way that life and her 'clients' crap on her. Again it's exaggerated - most 'normal' people would not behave like this. The film is disquieting, and very watchable.
February 3, 2011
(** 1/2): Thumbs Down

Jason Patric gives a very interesting performance here but you truly can only take so much of it. An off-beat film that I feel is a near-miss for me.
November 26, 2010
Good movie. It's realistic and has great acting. The character psychological development, or lack of, is vividly seen and felt.
Super Reviewer
November 13, 2010
In "Expired," Claire(Samantha Morton) takes care of her invalid mother(Teri Garr) while working as a meter maid. That job has its share of dangers like arguments with drivers, awkward encounters with ex-boyfriends and being hit by cars. After recuperating from one such accident, she meets Jay(Jason Patric), a co-worker who takes a much more agressive stance towards the job. That does not stop him from having his own awkward encounter with his estranged son(Jonny Mack) who is about to have his CD released and whom he tickets, anyway. But then they will let anybody on MTV these days.

Samantha Morton proved years ago that she can personally elevate any movie she is in, especially the mostly abominable "Minority Report." And that's also true with the otherwise unremarkable "Expired," that feels a little incomplete, to which she excels against the one-note performance of Jason Patric. In a switch, Claire is nowhere near as lonely as she might seem while Jay relies on phone sex and pornography for most of his interpersonal relations. That having been said, the movie's message is being kind can make the world a better place. Don't get me wrong. It's a worthy thought but strange coming from a movie about characters doling out parking tickets.(Apparently, you only get ticketed when you are about to return to your car.) As much as not ticketing somebody may be considered a good deed, remember that the money collected does go to the public good.
August 27, 2010
I wasted my time watching this movie. It was WEIRD!
Super Reviewer
½ July 13, 2010
Independent Romance-Drama/Comedy written and directed by Cecilia Miniucchi. Good writing and directing for the most part, good cinematography as well. Good performances by Samantha Morton, Jason Patric ["The Lost Boys", "The Losers"], Teri Garr, and Illeana Douglas ["Cape Fear", "Stir of Echoes"]. The ticket-giving scenes were very realistic, they reminded me of the reality show "Parking Wars". I found the dynamic between the two lead characters very interesting and weird, at some points it reminded me of the independent film "Secretary". Claire [played by Samantha Morton] is an abnormally pleasant passive aggressive lonely woman with low self-esteem and Jay [played by Jason Patric] is a serious asshole, both of them seem to be suffering from personality disorders. I spent most of the movie waiting for her to curse him out, it's sad to know that there are women out there with such a lack of self love or value. There are some scenes that provide some insight into Jay's alleged narcissistic personality disorder and you can tell he actually has lower self esteem than Claire based upon the way he takes out his frustrations with his own failures on people. The two share the occasional sweet moment even though Jay can't seem to just be a nice human-being for a prolonged amount of time, if they ever make a sequel they'll probably show him seeing a shrink. The title of the movie is not just a play on words referring to parking meters expiring, it's also a metaphor for life and how so many people waste their potential and end up expiring before they can make something of themselves. It's about love and how some people never find it, and about the people who do find love...but the wrong kind of love. Overall I found this to be a very compelling film despite some deficiencies, it's definitely worth a second watch.
March 12, 2010
I wasted my time watching this movie.
February 21, 2010
an interesting movie with a great performance, as usual, from samantha morton, who shows again why she is one of the best character actresses. unfortunately jason patric's character was such an asshole that i almost hated every minute he was on the screen, which may be a tribute to his acting, but it didn't make me like him anymore than i already don't. still a well done human drama comedy in the end.
February 10, 2010
This movie stunk - big time. It's about two loser opposites who fall in lust with each other. It is way too long and depressing to be classified a comedy. If you must, rent, don't buy.
½ January 20, 2010
i just like the end of the movie.and Samantha Morton!she is a great actress.
½ January 18, 2010
no busques amor donde ya expiro muy buena
Page 1 of 5