Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close Reviews

Page 1 of 10
September 8, 2017
[Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close] sways between being emotionally manipulative and genuinely moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 14, 2014
Horn dives into one of the most complex character's I've seen created for a child and shakes loose.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 25, 2013
Eric Roth's nimble screenplay and composer Alexandre Desplat's delicate score also help solidify "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" as one of the best movies movies of 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
September 8, 2013
This movie is exquisitely made, as Daldry provides a typically classy craft effort.
June 28, 2013
Daldry delivers a surprisingly engaging adaptation of Jonathan Safran Foer's stridently voiced novel about a precocious boy dealing with the death of his father in the terror attacks.
April 29, 2012
...there's nothing very special about Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, other than the remarkable Max von Sydow and a preternaturally alert performance by young Thomas Horn
Full Review | Original Score: 87/100
April 16, 2012
It may try too hard, and it borders on the implausible early and often, but the performance of newcomer Thomas Horn is relentlessly earnest and believable.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 23, 2012
The mysteries aren't that mysterious and some may have a hard time embracing its abrasive hero.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 8, 2012
Despite indulgences it works well because there is a really nice message that lies at the heart of the film. When our energies are all directed towards good, amazing things can happen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 2, 2012
In the end, the movie is about healing and coming to understand that some things can't be explained.
March 1, 2012
I knew after I came out of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close that I had been manipulated, but I didn't feel it mattered because the film told a story about a grieving family which had weight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 26, 2012
I can see why some might find the film sickly or overly sentimental, even a little forced, but it worked well enough on me to have me wiping away a few tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 26, 2012
I found this to be a peculiar movie. Some parts drew me in whilst other, not-so-believable parts, pushed me away.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 24, 2012
[A] dark daydream about coping with the secret guilts we all harbor, about the creeping horror of thinking about that day that all New Yorkers dealt with...
February 23, 2012
Veering from Amelie-esque whimsy to The Hours-like maudlin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 21, 2012
Daldry honed his prowess for stories about boys on a mission with his worldwide hit, Billy Elliot (2000); here, the stakes are different but the need for audiences to feel the film is again paramount
February 21, 2012
Eric Roth has crafted a wonderful screenplay from Jonathan Safran Foer's novel that reveals the vulnerable inner voice of the young boy who not only loses his father, but bears a heavy burden of guilt
February 19, 2012
It's the metaphor which is important here. The dawning realisation that searching for something might be more important than what you do or do not discover.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 18, 2012
Thomas Horn ... carrying a myriad emotions on very young and capable shoulders, regardless of obvious irritable character traits.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 17, 2012
Daldry draws a memorable and believable performance from the youngster, who had never acted before but who has to carry the bulk of the film's narrative on his slender shoulders.
Page 1 of 10