The Family Way - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Family Way Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 19, 2016
enjoyable film with a great cast as a young couple have problems with the consummation of their marriage.
September 27, 2016
From its honest, believable performances by all concerned to it's wonderfully realised script and subplots, this is a real British gem of a movie. Both amusing and dramatic in equal measure, the characters are sympathetic, real and some will have you laughing and crying in equal measure. Superb.
½ September 22, 2016
The subject matter could be a straight drama on its own, but to make an enjoyable comedy out of it is very clever. Most of the best humour derives from the older age group characters - their language, observations and nuances from a generation that no longer exists.
April 26, 2013
Wow does this one ever have low marks on Flixster. I'm getting it for my aunt. She won't like it. She hates everything. Just like MIkey on the Life Cereal Commercial. And you know what happened to Mikey. Heh Heh.

(He became the butt of an urban legend about pop-rocks and soda. But now I'm REALLY digressing. )

I on the other hand want to see Hayley (convulsively hunches shoulders and scrunches up face in vulgar, extremely Freudian nervous tick) Mills and her bare bottom which may be, like Sharon Stone's crotch in Basic Instinct, the reason this film was ever produced in the first place, though I hope not.

Short review of this and a report on how many times my Auntie says, "This movie is really stupid!" (every movie I like or recommend to her) forthcoming.
February 19, 2013
A wonderful story of the human condition in working class 1960's England. The screenwriter has an almost Shakespearean feel for his characters - an understanding of these people, their way of living, and what matters to them. We can see ourselves in these people, hence we care about them deeply.

The quality of the acting is superb. John Mills, one of the best English screen actors ever, is incredible as the father of the Groom. His character is rough and boorish and totally thoughtless when his newly-wed son and bride are forced to share his family's poor flat. Dad is more concerned with memories of his long lost buddy "Billy" than he is with the lives of his own wife and family. Yet somehow Mills lets us feel a sensitivity behind this character that wrenches the viewers heart at the end of the movie.

The plot here is straight forward and simple, a vehicle for us to get to know these characters. Mills' son and the son's bride are forced to live with Mom, Dad, and family in a thin walled flat. Among other problems, the proximity of family leads the groom to a bout of impotence. The thin walls soon have the whole family, and soon the entire neighborhood aware of our hero's problem. Females tend to be sympathetic to our guy, guys tend to tease him or offer advice (pre-viagra days). One particularly sleazy character promises to get the job done for him. And the bride seems somewhat taken by this creep. Problems naturally ensue.

Mills' daughter Haley is cast in her first roll as an adult, playing her real-life father's daughter-in-law. She pulls off the change from child to adult actor flawlessly, she's a delight. The rest of the cast is strong and oh so believable. The Mom in this story has the heart and courage of an Edith Bunker with none of the ditziness.

This film probably made no top 100 lists because it is so topical and set so much in its own time and place. Try watching it as you would a Shakespeare play, put the surroundings away and enjoy the study of the human condition.
September 26, 2012
A delicate but grand story that could be about any northern family in the late 60's. Every performance was strong but the shining lights were father and daughter John and Hayley Mills - perfect.
October 3, 2011
Looks like a nice story, and a decent film.
August 3, 2011
This is one of Hayley Mills's best movies! It deals with the hardships of marriage and ends on a happy note! It has a good script and acting to boot...
½ June 23, 2010
The moment is incredibly moving and unforgettable and captures the essence of the father/son relationship in a way that I have never seen more eloquently expressed.
Super Reviewer
½ February 27, 2010
Nice little story of the hardships of early marriage life. Well acted and directed with a witty and touching script. A movie which should be viewed by all young couples headed towards marriage. A real sleeper treat.
March 3, 2009
An under-rated gem of a movie. A bitter-sweet script by Bill "Alfie", "Spring & Port Wine" Naughton, some subtle acting (John Mills revealing vunerability beneath a blustering surface), a 'nude' scene forMs Mills and a score by Paul McCartney make thise a favourite.
Super Reviewer
September 8, 2008
nominated for best picture by NBR
½ August 4, 2008
wat a nan showed me this because it was one of her all time loved it and it made me laugh so much becaus how gay do u have to be to not be able to shag ur wife on ur weddin my sayin is u have to test out the car before u by

one of the best lines in the film is at the end and it is "he walked in here like it was a public convinience"
May 4, 2008
My absolute favourite movie ever!!
April 10, 2008
"Ira Hayes....
Ira Hayes....
Call him drunken Hayes,
He won't answer anymore.
Not the whiskey drunken Indian or the man who went to war."
½ January 15, 2008
Want to see it again
December 1, 2007
Haley Mills in a movie about sex! Can't get it up? That's what it's about. Paul McCartney did the musical score. This is really very good.
November 9, 2007
absolutely brilliant - wonderfully written and beautifully acted, it's touching, funny and (most importantly) honest. no-one can make films quite like the british. and "life. it may make you laugh at your age, but one day it'll make you bloody cry" is the best last line of any film ever. i still can't believe arthur grew up to become the mafia guy from eastenders though.
October 27, 2007
Total classic film of the 60's--authentic Bolton setting, beautiful acting. My most memorable line: 'He walked through here like it were a public convenience.'
September 23, 2007
Nice afternoon film. 5 stars here
Page 1 of 2