Farewell, My Queen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Farewell, My Queen Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Bob Bloom
Journal and Courier (Lafayette, IN)
August 23, 2012
At 99 minutes, "Farewell My Queen" provides a glimpse into the early stages of the French Revolution, told from the perspective of those who mostly lost their heads because they were too blind to see beyond their own wants and needs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Chris Stuckmann
August 22, 2012
Beniot Jacquot [...] compliments immersive storytelling with a cast full of painstakingly authentic performances.
| Original Score: 4/5
Sarah Boslaugh
August 10, 2012
The period detail is exquisite, and the motivations and emotions of the characters need no translation for the modern viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
August 10, 2012
"Farewell, My Queen" is a layer cake of royal pleasures, rote protocols and revolutionary politics. For skeptics who thought this story had grown stale, let them eat their words.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
August 8, 2012
The details of the plot are unimportant: that is the main point made by the skillful director, Benoît Jacquot. It is the slowness with which they realize what is happening that fascinates.
Marc Mohan
August 3, 2012
The movie ultimately has something potent to say about the ways ordinary people, caught up in history's waves, can either drown or surf.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 2, 2012
Filmmaker Jacquot has always had a knack for directing actresses, and both Seydoux and Kruger luxuriate in the end-of-an-era-ness.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
August 2, 2012
Although it was shot at Versailles, and its actors are dressed to the 18th-century nines, Farewell, My Queen has a loose, reportorial intimacy about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nathaniel Rogers
Film Experience
July 28, 2012
Psychologically knotty and bracingly immediate... Léa Seydoux is riveting.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
July 27, 2012
As we follow her through the monarchy's abrupt collapse, "Farewell, My Queen" gives us intimate, unflaggingly energetic history as seen from the servants' quarters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
July 27, 2012
As drama it offers a fascinating portrait of the Ancien Regime decaying in the face of new 'Enlightened' thinking.
Full Review | Original Score: B
James Verniere
Boston Herald
July 27, 2012
The film boasts Vermeer-like interiors lit by candle or firelight glowingly reflected in gilt-adorned paneling and screens, and in one memorable shot, the gleaming skin of a nude sleeping Gabrielle.
Full Review | Original Score: A minus
Top Critic
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
July 26, 2012
The foreboding and chaos contrast neatly with the lavish costumes and sets.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
July 26, 2012
We know what will happen, of course, but Jacquot still manages to create tension, as well as a semi-soap opera, among the let-them-cake-eaters of post-Enlightenment France.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
July 26, 2012
"Farewell, My Queen" is worth a look simply for its look.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mark Feeney
Boston Globe
July 26, 2012
The guillotine's blade is, as yet, nowhere to be heard. But you can feel Jacquot's pleasure is slicing and dicing this material in novel ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 26, 2012
If you have a thing for French royalty, this is an intriguing new take.
| Original Score: 3/4
Patrick Z. McGavin
Boston Phoenix
July 25, 2012
Jacquot subtly shifts the movie's force and moral inquiry towards Seydoux, and her alert performance provides a melancholy humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Levin
July 23, 2012
With attractively costumed actors and a no-expenses-spared approach, the movie is the closest we'll get to experiencing Versailles alongside the queen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
July 19, 2012
Jacquot takes a refreshingly understated approach to costume drama, avoiding historical generalizations to focus on the particulars of palace life and the psychological states of individual characters.
Page 2 of 4