Farewell, My Queen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Farewell, My Queen Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 21, 2013
It should be retitled; 'Sidonie, Marie Antoinette's just not that into you.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 1, 2013
A mood of melancholy and the film is beautifully lit and shot. But there's something missing in the telling and its often disjointed structure mitigates against the emotional satisfaction we are seeking
July 13, 2012
Jacquot's lavish décor and costumes are like the perfume the women use instead of bathing: They may cover up the willful carelessness at the center of the project, but it's still there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 9, 2012
A well-observed but emotionally muted costume drama.
July 11, 2012
Farewell, My Queen was shot in Versailles, but its flat schematism only highlights that the backdrops had a better story to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 12, 2012
The experience of watching it is something like lounging on a satin divan, being fanned lazily with a bouquet of ostrich plumes.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
September 18, 2017
Go see period historical drama at its best and live within the walls of a time of extraordinary luxury and danger.
February 7, 2014
Farewell, My Queen is a knife-edge drama that steadily builds tension that at times becomes as unbearably tense as the relationship between the three leading ladies.
August 22, 2012
Beniot Jacquot [...] compliments immersive storytelling with a cast full of painstakingly authentic performances.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
January 9, 2013
By the time Seydoux realizes what's in store for her and her queen, we're almost as surprised as she is.
Read More | Original Score: B+
June 5, 2013
It's kind of the Rosencrantz and Gulidenstern Are Dead approach to history, observing it from the perspective of a "minor character", and it works ... it's a fascinating glimpse of a moment in history from, essentially, a safe bystander.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 19, 2012
Jacquot takes a refreshingly understated approach to costume drama, avoiding historical generalizations to focus on the particulars of palace life and the psychological states of individual characters.
July 9, 2012
Control is the operative element in Benoît Jacquot's work, with the main caveat being that when someone has it, someone else does not.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 26, 2012
The foreboding and chaos contrast neatly with the lavish costumes and sets.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 6, 2013
While it does not hang together as a whole, Farewell, My Queen is still an interesting and engaging film that should be overall commended for what it does achieve.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 1, 2013
History doesn't let us feel much sympathy for Marie Antoinette. But "Farewell, My Queen" almost has us rooting for her and those who love her by its finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 19, 2012
Benoit Jacquot's engrossing film tells a story we know well, seen from a point of view we may not have considered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 13, 2012
It's a strangely unsatisfying combination of bloodless observations and unresolved sexuality. But Diane Kruger's queen, a mature beauty mourning the loss of her youth, is a vivid portrait of willfulness, childishness and genuine neediness.
January 20, 2013
The complex triangle at the dark heart of his film, set against the surging social change of a nation, makes for both a superb historical epic and a compelling human drama.
September 6, 2012
As a portrait of a world ending, it's frequently compelling stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 4