Fast Sofa - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fast Sofa Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 11, 2015
This is awful in almost all categories: story, acting, filming, editing, human interest. I started watching on The Movie Channel - a total waste of time!
January 17, 2015
I couldn't get past a Busey relative being in the movie. It was awful.
November 29, 2013
It was late one night in an overcrowded Mexican hotel room, when this film had come on television. Everyone else had fallen asleep, and I was attempting an uncomfortable sleep across two chairsIn this manner, I watched this film alone. Which is really the only way to see it. Like so many street maddened homeless people I've met, it pressed it's winding story on me with a juggernaut desperation obscured by the haze of parasites and substances, needing to say something, whether or not it has anything to say. As with all those soup-smelling transients, I listened and was drawn in even more for it's obfuscations. And for this reason it was best seen alone. Anyone else would have taken refuge in the company of sane persons and would have put no effort into empathy and understanding.
And for my time, in the end, I took nothing from it, as I took nothing from those drawn out animal howls of loneliness I was subjected to by the degenerated people who have slipped between the sizable socioeconomic cracks. And, like those street lit perambulations, I loved it. I loved it because it messed my melon one uncomfortable night in a foreign nation all those years ago, when movies of it's like were knew to me. I loved it because it was mine. It was different, but not extraordinary. A bold adaptation of a novel I've never read. Kin to a lot of odd movies that preceded it in the late nineties. Not wonderful, but weird and mine. Mine alone to take in. A majority of the movies I watch now, I watch alone at 3am. Maybe unconsciously because of this odd, but unremarkable film on mexican television. If this seems to you to be too subjective to be useful as a film review, I would agree, but that's the point. It's not Fast sofa that is of interest to me. I might never see it again. It's that that movie helped me find out something about the isolation of human consciousness and how that can be a pleasurable limitation. And then perhaps from that we can say, that if circumstance can dictate how one enjoys a film, can criticism be said to be really worth while?
Look hard at you self swine, and wonder if your discussions of quality are really that much more communicable than mine and what good they are then? Who are they made for? If it is for oneself is that in a way more useful, less depressing?
May 25, 2012
a very weird, trashy, horny kinda road movie but had one or two moments that had me laughing out loud.
October 10, 2011
I sat through an hour of this dreck before I just couldn't tolerate any more Jake Busey. He's beyond obnoxious in every role, and this one is no exception. Not to mention there's really no plot, thus I shouldn't have even spent that hour on it. Definitely could not justify sitting through the entire film.
April 24, 2010
fun.can't seem to find this anywhere now.
½ December 18, 2009
A bid crude and it sure has some unpleasant characters, but Jennifer Tilly puts a little heart and soul into her role. Jake Busey is just unpleasant - period. Offbeat, not always involving, but there are occasional sparks.
½ September 28, 2009
This movie was extreme. The turmoil of running from responsibilities, drives the main character to desperate measures. You feel for him, and his new found buddy as the story continues. The end might shake you up a bit hard. The quality of this film held it back! Porn is involved, but not the basis of the movie.
September 17, 2009
YES I WANT SEE IT. ADD ON TO SEE.
August 30, 2009
really weird in a B Movie kind of way. The beginning was a little too contrived but Crispin Glover steps in and makes it interesting.
July 27, 2008
CRAZY FUNNY MOVIE THAT ALMOST END IN THE FUCKED CATAGORY
June 26, 2008
The movie is passable, but Crispin Glover delivered a very good performance.
May 22, 2008
It starts off rather slow'n'the blurbs don't really tell you everything it's about. It's not just some cheaply made movie with lots of sex in it. It's more than that. Just, not that much more.
½ February 13, 2008
Let's See?!? Mr. Glover's character blows this film to heights it could not have achieved witho/ut him," It's time to get Crucial!'. Ms. Tilly as a porn-star, Jake Busey plays himself, and fortunately for him the co-stars carry this movie. Mr. Roberts as a pimp/producer. It is a fun ride!
October 11, 2007
This movie is intense. Crispin Glover is just gorgeous.. the end: you will cry.
October 3, 2007
This movie.... well, there aren't words for this movie. It's a movie you'd had to sit thru once, form an opinion. You have 2 choices. Either you'll love it or hate it.
September 3, 2007
A good film with a lot more depth than might occur to casual viewers. It doesn't really solidify until Crispin's character, Jules, enters the picture, however, and that's a pity. If only the beginning could be stronger. (The book is also not bad, although Crispin's interpretation of Jules is far more interesting.)
½ July 31, 2007
Not too bad, and it certainly got better toward the end. But it doesn't come together at all. There are too many characters whose roles are too big, yet too small. Crispin Glover is one of the best actors around, though, and it shws through in this film. Jake Busey... not so much...
July 21, 2007
cayou underaprciated? some times i think im the only person on the fucking planet thats watched this movie.

GO WATCH IT YOU FUCKING CCLOWNS.

this movie is a unfound treasure that people overlook and ppasss by. its mostly found in the super cheap baragin bin at video stores and gas stations. do yourselvs a favor, invest the three dollars you were going to spend on the big bag of chips and buy this movie. you wont regret it.
July 11, 2007
Jake Busy, Crispin Glover, Jennifer Tilly, Eric Roberts. A "B" cast for an "A" film
Page 1 of 2