The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Adam Gold
San Diego Union-Tribune
July 2, 2010
When a film is made there should be a reason for doing so.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
May 20, 2010
The Father of My Children loses focus and sags into a how-we-got-through-it family procedural.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 23, 2010
A modest drama about a suicide and its aftermath that never quite moves an audience as it should.
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
May 29, 2010
A well-acted, intermittently heartfelt drama that suddenly loses steam and becomes bland, unengaging and leaves you feeling ultimately underwhelmed.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.72/10
Cole Smithey
May 23, 2010
"The Father of My Children" is a grand, overflowing, mistake of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
David Roark
Dallas Morning News
August 6, 2010
While the movie is far from perfect, those potential missteps are, in the end, part of what makes The Father of My Children so beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
August 24, 2010
Mia Hansen-LÝve deserves credit both as a writer and a director. This is a very convincing drama.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Beth Wilson
August 25, 2010
The subtle, tender sadness of the film trumps any of its small scripting problems and certainly marks out not only the film's young cast members but also the director as ones to watch.
Annlee Ellingson
Moving Pictures Magazine
May 21, 2010
Gentle moments build toward a worldview -- about cinema, about legacy, about starting over -- that's thematically profound.
Kate Muir
Times (UK)
May 28, 2010
The depiction of the grieving producer's wife and children is agonising in its truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
July 10, 2010
...a stylish, subtle and devastating film about a recognizable good person whose world gradually and believably falls away.
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 27, 2010
The film's second half is the most touching, because it shows that our lives are not merely our own, but also belong to the events we set in motion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
July 23, 2010
The Father of My Children is exceptional drama. Compelling and unforced, it shows sensitivity and evenhandedness in approaching a difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
May 26, 2010
Hansen-Love‚(TM)s fevered mix of love and resentment toward this man lends urgency and eros to his professional and personal unraveling.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 28, 2010
Beautiful, profound and, given the gathering tensions of its story, phenomenally full of life.
John P. McCarthy
Boxoffice Magazine
May 21, 2010
The idea that movies are a trifle when compared to real life is dangled then shattered by The Father of My Children. Gr√ (C)goire's love of film lives on, and ours is deepened.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
May 28, 2010
A tragic but ultimately hopeful story. Louis-Do De Lencquesaing is excellent as the filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Alice Tynan
Concrete Playground
August 23, 2010
Fresh-faced performances and tender writing makes for a family who jumps straight off the screen and into your heart.
Andrew O'Hagan
London Evening Standard
March 16, 2010
There are some rough edges to the film and it seems quite insecure in its last 10 minutes, but Hansen-Love has brought an impressive tenderness to it... In no small part, you will find yourself really caring for this family and what it faces.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
July 23, 2010
A subtle work on an exceedingly difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3