The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 2, 2010
When a film is made there should be a reason for doing so.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 20, 2010
The Father of My Children loses focus and sags into a how-we-got-through-it family procedural.
July 23, 2010
A modest drama about a suicide and its aftermath that never quite moves an audience as it should.
May 29, 2010
A well-acted, intermittently heartfelt drama that suddenly loses steam and becomes bland, unengaging and leaves you feeling ultimately underwhelmed.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.72/10
May 23, 2010
"The Father of My Children" is a grand, overflowing, mistake of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 20, 2010
This is a grim family drama that I can't quite put my finger on, and as well as it is made and acted I can't imagine I'll be watching it again anytime soon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 6, 2010
While the movie is far from perfect, those potential missteps are, in the end, part of what makes The Father of My Children so beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 24, 2010
Mia Hansen-LÝve deserves credit both as a writer and a director. This is a very convincing drama.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 25, 2010
The subtle, tender sadness of the film trumps any of its small scripting problems and certainly marks out not only the film's young cast members but also the director as ones to watch.
May 21, 2010
Gentle moments build toward a worldview -- about cinema, about legacy, about starting over -- that's thematically profound.
November 7, 2016
This is not an easy movie. It tackles big stuff- the biggest, really... But it breathes, nonetheless, and encourages us to do so too even in the wake of the grief it inspires us to recall in our lives.
May 28, 2010
The depiction of the grieving producer's wife and children is agonising in its truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 10, 2010
...a stylish, subtle and devastating film about a recognizable good person whose world gradually and believably falls away.
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
May 27, 2010
The film's second half is the most touching, because it shows that our lives are not merely our own, but also belong to the events we set in motion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 23, 2010
The Father of My Children is exceptional drama. Compelling and unforced, it shows sensitivity and evenhandedness in approaching a difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 26, 2010
Hansen-Love‚(TM)s fevered mix of love and resentment toward this man lends urgency and eros to his professional and personal unraveling.
May 28, 2010
Beautiful, profound and, given the gathering tensions of its story, phenomenally full of life.
May 21, 2010
The idea that movies are a trifle when compared to real life is dangled then shattered by The Father of My Children. Gr√ (C)goire's love of film lives on, and ours is deepened.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 28, 2010
A tragic but ultimately hopeful story. Louis-Do De Lencquesaing is excellent as the filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 23, 2010
Fresh-faced performances and tender writing makes for a family who jumps straight off the screen and into your heart.
Page 1 of 3