The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) Reviews

November 7, 2016
This is not an easy movie. It tackles big stuff- the biggest, really... But it breathes, nonetheless, and encourages us to do so too even in the wake of the grief it inspires us to recall in our lives.
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 5, 2010
The film is achieved with a rare tenderness and grace by 29-year-old French actress-filmmaker Mia Hanson-Love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 6, 2010
While the movie is far from perfect, those potential missteps are, in the end, part of what makes The Father of My Children so beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 23, 2010
A modest drama about a suicide and its aftermath that never quite moves an audience as it should.
July 23, 2010
A subtle work on an exceedingly difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 23, 2010
The Father of My Children is exceptional drama. Compelling and unforced, it shows sensitivity and evenhandedness in approaching a difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2010
It is a film about children and their parents, and not knowing where fate, or life, can take you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 1, 2010
You could argue that the film fails to revive the harassed intensities of its first hour, but I doubt whether they could have been sustained; and what we get instead, with its stunned and glassy air, yields a slow-breathing drama of its own.
May 28, 2010
A tale of cinema, a story about the agonies of trying to work outside the cinematic mainstream (even in France!). Yet what makes the movie so affecting is that it‚(TM)s also a love story about a family.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 28, 2010
Beautiful, profound and, given the gathering tensions of its story, phenomenally full of life.
May 28, 2010
There is much opportunity to turn the film into a soaper, but Hansen-Love resists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 27, 2010
The Father Of My Children is largely about how life drifts by, and how we don't always leave the mark in the world that we'd hoped, so Hansen-LÝve resists the urge to overdramatize or over-stress.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 27, 2010
The film's second half is the most touching, because it shows that our lives are not merely our own, but also belong to the events we set in motion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
May 27, 2010
This is only half a great movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 26, 2010
Hansen-Love‚(TM)s fevered mix of love and resentment toward this man lends urgency and eros to his professional and personal unraveling.
May 26, 2010
Writer-director Mia Hansen-LÝve is telling two stories here: The first is a concentrated, slow-burn tale of personal self-destruction, while the second is an anecdotal, perceptive study of a family dealing with tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 20, 2010
The Father of My Children loses focus and sags into a how-we-got-through-it family procedural.
May 20, 2010
What French writer-director Mia Hansen-Love has created is an extraordinarily empathetic humanistic drama, a film of love, joy, sadness and hope that understands how complex our emotions are and does beautiful justice to them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 25, 2010
The essence of the film is a welcome compassion and curiosity about inner lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2009
Marked by moments of remarkable stillness amid its emotional tumult, the film's classy, perceptive treatment of potentially maudlin material merits wider arthouse attention than it's likely to receive.