Fausto Reviews

Top Critic
June 16, 2019
Bussmann invites us to consider the ancient cultural traditions and belief systems lost throughout history to colonization and gentrification.
June 10, 2019
There is no narrative and that's okay because Faust is one of those stories that can express and communicate without doing much. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 10, 2019
Demanding, frustrating, fascinating, and rewarding, Fausto is a richly dense exercise in active viewing.
April 19, 2019
This metaphysical fixation with shadows helps explain the film's obsession with obstructing our visual clarity-subjects too are often barely illuminated by candlelight-by forcing us to reconsider what is literally in front of our eyes.
April 11, 2019
Fausto is a heartfelt and sometimes openly earnest plea for contemplation; a look at where the human mind can go once one takes their own ego out of their own analytical abilities...
April 3, 2019
The shadowed border between human and non-human perception is one of the film's sustained topics of interrogation.
October 5, 2018
Familiar sights [are] enshrouded in darkness, leaving the knowledge of what's lying just before our eyes painfully out of our grasp ... Bussmann's film [thus] becomes a sublime odyssey into how we fill that darkness.
September 17, 2018
Fausto is a refined work of narrative, literary and cinematographic revisionism that, rather than modernizing, puts Goethe's work in dialogue with other stories, finding revealing similarities. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 15, 2018
Bussmann's curiosity and desire to transform the everyday into fable-like reverie creates a cinema that transfixes as much as it is liable to transgress.
September 8, 2018
The storytellers aren't always as captivating as the filmmaker's eye, but this version of Faust is also at the nexus of a lot self-relfection and questioning happening more broadly in cinema right now.