Ferris Bueller's Day Off - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ferris Bueller's Day Off Reviews

Page 3 of 1472
August 11, 2016
While uneven and cliched a few times, Ferris Bueller's Day Off benefits from the charming performance of Matthew Broderick in the role of the fourth-wall breaking Ferris Bueller and tons of laughs galore, primarily from Jeffrey Jones as Edward Rooney the film's villain.The film not only focuses on being young, but also manages to capture the spirit of Chicago making this one of the best teen comedies of the 80's.
August 11, 2016
An Absolute 80's Classic That Not Only Still Brings Laughs, but Also The Sense Of Freedom Of Being Young. Features Possibly Matthew Broderick's Best Role Alongside an Equally Talented Cast.
8.5 / 10 Fun, Lighthearted Comedy That Will Certainly Lift Anyone's Spirits.
August 8, 2016
Capturing essential 80's culture, hilarious writing, perfect acting, unique narrator. Ferris Bueller's Day Off is one of the greatest comedies of all time, if not one of the greatest movies ever.
August 7, 2016
I can watch this movie so many times and it never gets old
July 30, 2016
Great fun movie does what it says on the can.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 29, 2016
Classic film even though not an awful lot happens and it just goes a little bland near the end, Not allot of funny moments but it's clever.
July 23, 2016
Silly 1980s comedy that was a hit on its release and enjoys high ratings.
Basically it is the story of an American teenager called Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) who wags school for the day with a phoney medical condition and enjoys the day 'off' to full effect visiting several Chicago locales on the way.
The film plays like an eighties US Carry On/National Lampoon's film and features a cameo from Charlie Sheen and Jennifer Grey (Dirty Dancing) as Buellers bitter sister.
It is one of those brain free films that take up some time on a Saturday afternoon when there are no football matches but it is certainly something I won't watch ever again.
One thing that got me thinking. Some strict headteacher wastes a full day near enough trying to 'catch' Bueller in his truancy act. Typical.
½ July 21, 2016
Ferris Bueller's Day Off certainly isn't the best of 80s Rat Pack ruler John Hughes' work, with the plot often getting lost and confused and a few scenes overstaying their welcome, such as the float. Where it works is its overwhelmingly positive, optimistic view on life and a few clever strokes that made it a pop culture staple, even 30 years later.
July 20, 2016
Ferris Bueller's Day Off is awesome to skip school before graduation!
July 17, 2016
Favourite film. Excellent acting, intriguing characters and very humorous
½ July 8, 2016
Matthew Broderick is in a good film
July 6, 2016
Director and legendary writer John Hughes might not be recognized by mass audiences for the projects he's made, but movie buffs and critics alike most certainly remember him well. Films like: Planes, Trains & Automobiles, Pretty in Pink, Home Alone, almost all the National Lampoon films, and The Breakfast Club. That and so many are just some of the films he's wrote/directed for that have not only have been home names today but also resonated with a lot of people growing up in the mid 70's and 80's. And while he sadly took a dark path of terrible films to follow afterwards, i thought it be best to look at his more famous film to date: " Ferris Bueller's Day Off." Yet another film along with countless other well know films that i haven't gotten to see till now. And, a bit to my surprise, i was luck enough to enjoy the film for what it was: Classic 80's being young and enjoying life. Basically John Hughes being John Hughes. And yes while i did kind of mind some of the uncanny coincidences that did occur here and there and the already overused story line that countless other films payed homage to, these are just VERY cynical nitpicks that overall don't break the film at all. Because like i said, i was able to enjoy the premise a lot to just sit back and just enjoy John Hughes doing his thing. Great things such as: A very well done and surprisingly charismatic performance by the young Matthew Broderick before doing Godzilla 98 (yeah him in that was....awful.), a very simple but yet entertaining premise, good performances overall from the whole cast, great jokes both from the slapstick and constant fourth wall breaking, and was overall just a fun film to enjoy. And yes it is great, but the film then gives me a sense of sadness as to how John Hughes goes from making cult-classics for over 20 years and before passing made....Flubber and Baby's Day Out. *Sigh* Who knows for sure. Still a great film though.
July 6, 2016
Didn't see it at the time. Rare movie where teen's rebellion isn't punished.
June 30, 2016
98% Ferris Bueller's Day Off is nothing less than pure cinematic entertainment. And the stellar cast led by Matthew Broderick makes an irresistibly fun and funny classic that tackles themes of enjoying life while you can and you can watch over and over again.
June 29, 2016
This meandering adolescent comedy is not as authentic or inspired as John Hughes? other teen comedies, and we don?t have nearly as much fun as young Ferris Bueller.
June 23, 2016
Bad film. Don't get the hype. I understand it is old but this film is slow pointless and not very funny
½ June 21, 2016
It took me 30 years to watch this classic 80s comedy. The film stands the test of time. Light comedy fare, covering various teen issues and teen angst. Ferris and Cameron have become legendary characters. This is definitely one of the best of the 80s teen films, such as Breakfast Club and others. Great music included for a full time capsule effect. Bow bow...chick chick... chicka chicka!

It's fascinating that a sequel was never made.
½ June 17, 2016
I just feel that this is a grown up version of home alone. There's no true meaning to this movie and everything was just flat and dull.
June 13, 2016
Ferris Bueller's Day Off is all about a day of ditching school and going out and enjoying the day. I found this movie to be excellent. It did lack comedy a little which I was surprised with. But overall it is a great movie. I would suggest this movie.
Page 3 of 1472