Festival in Cannes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Festival in Cannes Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ August 28, 2014
favorite line: All those great people Cocteau and Sarte. They came here. Now, it's a zoo. If I ever made a film about Cannes I'd just go from cell phone to cell phone. Just have one shot on the croisette (Promenade de la Croisette), cell phone, cell phone, cell phone, cell phone, and then it goes (buzzing noises in different tones like a cell phone).
July 12, 2012
Go to a film festival, don't go to a movie about going to a film festival.
Super Reviewer
August 18, 2010
A behind-the-scenes look at the madness that is Cannes, the film follows several people who are in town to make the deal that will keep their careers afloat. There is an actress, turned script writer (Gretchen Scachi) trying to sell her script. There is the aging actress (Anouk Aimee) who hasn't had a leading role in some time. There is her ex-husband (Maximilian Schell), a director who hasn't helmed a film in almost as long, in town with his Italian starlet girlfriend. And a big-budget Hollywood producer (Ron Silver) who has been tasked with signing the aging actress to a bit part in order to land the big names that will carry the film. In the process, old lovers reunite, players get played, and new lovers find one another. Given the insincerity of everyone's shtick, one has to wonder which of these pairings are destined to survive the week. The film is awash with familiar faces, and some not so familiar. It appears to have been shot during an actual week of the famous Cannes Film Festival, and derives a certain authenticity from that. A very well-done, entertaining piece that may not bring world peace, but it does manage to keep one chuckling for a little over an hour and a half.
May 22, 2008
CANNES 2008 Report ...

{excuse me for using this poster}


This has been the most 'festive' Cannes Festival I have ever attended! I was truly not prepared for the overwhelming amount of A-list actors, directors, producers etc in attendance! All making for beaucoup luncheons, dinners, receptions, parties, parties and more parties! Certainly makes up for what's lacking on the screens here. Oh there have been a few highlights, but very few. Indy & The Crystal Skull actually turned out to be a high point! But don't believe all the naysayers ... if you are looking forward to this, and you KNOW you are, you will not be disappointed. Its vintage Spielberg, not as great as the original Raiders (how could it be, its been done to death in the past 27 years), but lots of meaningless fun. The first 20 minutes will knock you out and Harrison Ford fits into character like a well worn glove. Woody Allen also delivered the goods with "Vicky Christina Barcelona", a waaaaay sexy film that has an outstanding performance from Penelope Cruz which I'm sure will be recognized at award season. Woody lets Ms Cruz emote in her native Spanish (she's always so blah in English) to amazing effect. Clint Eastwood delivers in spades with "Changeling". A 'wowie' 'film with a 'zowie' Angelina Jolie. Atom Egoyan's remarkable new film "Adoration" is also worth a view.
But the highlight thus far, for me, was attending an informal luncheon a friend invited me to at his friend's house. I was looking forward to seeing the inside of this manse that I had passed on several occasions. Well the house guests staying at this friends house were Angelina Jolie & Brad Pitt. I have met and interviewed Angie several times, but had never met the elusive Mr. Pitt even though I did Q&A's for 3 of his films (he didn't attend the Q&A's). They have to be the MOST charismatic and gorgeous couple in the world! ... and very gracious.
Might have to cut short this trip due to Stateside engagements ... we will see. Hate to leave early.
January 24, 2008
I couldn't finish it, but from what I did watch, it was alright.

I just wish the film wasn't so low budget. It looked like it was done in the 70s.
½ June 17, 2007
I really enjoyed this film. I reminded me a lot of Woody Allen actually. The characters were great. Anouk Aimee was beautiful, and it starred Greta Scacchi, who for those of you who worked with me at TIFF last year will recall I spent the day with doing publicity. I wont go into the details about that here, and I guess I have gone off course with my review as I am no longer talking about the film but about myself. I recommend. A very chill, easy to watch film. I have never been to Cannes so I am not sure if it gets the vibe quite right, but I would imagine that it does. Anyone interested in film culture and festival culture should see this.
June 8, 2007
Really fun story about the wheeling and dealing that goes on at a film festival.....

That or it just brings back great memories of the Riviera.
½ June 8, 2007
I LOVED it! Amazing to know how things work in Cannes.
½ June 10, 2006
[left][u][b]T[/b][/u][b][u]he scenes behind the scenes.[/u][/b]
[/left]

[i]Festival in Cannes[/i] is so far out I can hardly describe it, except that it's set in the Cannes Festival of 1999.
½ May 30, 2005
[left][color=#ffffff]Long-winded, martini-dry Henry Jaglom comedy pokes fun at the Hollywood scene, [/color][color=#ffffff]only without any vigor or depth. For better show biz satire, see Robert Altman's "The Player" instead.[/color][/left]
Page 1 of 1