Fifty Shades Freed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades Freed Reviews

February 15, 2018
Freed appeals to women's biological urges-to secure a protective mate, to nest, to procreate-and depends on them leaving their brains at the theater door.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 13, 2018
This lumbering trilogy of trash based on the books by E. L. James has so run out of blood and oxygen that it has varicose veins.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 12, 2018
These movies are derivative, often ridiculous, and, in the case of Fifty Shades Freed, unquestionably hilarious, but they're also the overheated comfort food I crave.
February 12, 2018
The impersonally crafted, emptily realized, expensively produced movie gets its modicum of humanity from Dakota Johnson, who has the gift of simply seeming alive and present when she's on camera.
February 10, 2018
A sequel so awful it needs to be described in detail to be believed. Therefore, a spoilereview.
February 9, 2018
What a sorry state of affairs for moviegoers: all we want is a little coitus, but all we get is interruptus.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 9, 2018
With little else to keep me interested as the story stumbled along, I did enjoy keeping track of all the trendy names of various minor supporting characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 9, 2018
They're actually ... a boring couple, truth be told.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 9, 2018
Did someone say "freed" already? Yes, please. Red. Red. Red.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 9, 2018
There are unintentional laughs in the plodding, clunky story, but the biggest laugh is the one this series has had on the audience for three movies.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 9, 2018
The sex scenes are strangely mechanical and devoid of passion. It's probably a mixture of three things: directorial decisions, a lack of chemistry between the leads, and viewer apathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 8, 2018
Actually really mostly pretty good.
February 8, 2018
Might as well be called "So I Married a Sociopath."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 8, 2018
two hours of cruel and unusual punishment . The zero-star rating may be too kind
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
February 8, 2018
The sex scenes are, save the occasional bit of exposed flesh or brandished toy, fairly mild -- Freed is probably the least provocative film of the trilogy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 8, 2018
Johnson and Dornan's performances are wooden and their chemistry nonexistent (particularly in the movie's more-of-the-same sex scenes), but think of it all as ultra-deadpan entertainment and it kind of works.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 8, 2018
If liberation is the endgame of "Fifty Shades Freed," most of the time we feel trapped right alongside the characters, immobilized by the pointless, suffocating beauty and the stultifying dramatic inertia of the world James has created for them.
February 8, 2018
There's plenty of artfully-lit airbrushed sex -- and unintended guffaws -- for those with a taste for midnight-movie-style chewy badness. Otherwise, the safe word should be "avoid."
February 8, 2018
Though it's difficult to discern the flavour of ice cream used in one so-called erotic encounter, it's probably vanilla.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 8, 2018
I like these people. I'm rather sorry to see this series end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 8, 2018
Johnson has a sense of Anastasia not just as part of a pristinely arranged tableau but also as a sensualist, with all the attendant nerve endings and complex emotions that that implies.
February 8, 2018
Ana can now stand up to Christian's emotionally manipulative, controlling tendencies (remember, kink ain't the same as abuse, kids). She even shows agency once or twice. But what replaces it is just as risible.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
February 8, 2018
If I can persuade just one of you to bypass its milquetoast masochism and watch the stratospherically superior "9 1/2 Weeks" instead, then I will have done my job.
February 8, 2018
To her credit, Johnson actually turns in her best Shades stuff here ... Too bad it's not enough to save everything else about this whole silly affair's fumbling climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 8, 2018
Just turn off your brain and submit.
February 8, 2018
As the trilogy goes out, more desperate than ever to convince us it was in on the joke all along, it's hard to say exactly what the joke was.
February 8, 2018
Tie me up, tie me down, make me watch bad films. Just no more "Fifty Shades," please.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 8, 2018
It seems embarrassed to embrace its own pervy nature. It's kitsch that looks in the mirror and deludes itself into thinking it sees art staring back.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
February 7, 2018
"Fifty Shades Freed" suffers from a lack of rhythm, moving from plot point to plot point with as much spontaneity as meal-planning for one's luxury penthouse household with one's housekeeper.
February 7, 2018
Finally, the "Fifty Shades" phenomenon has yielded a disarming comedy that makes this ridiculous material fun to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
February 7, 2018
A sex-free, PG-13 version of "Freed" could be cut without shedding a second of narrative coherence, such as it is; one could ask what the point of that would be, though similar queries might be leveled at the film as it stands.
February 7, 2018
Seriously, is this the best we can offer adults who don't want to watch Marvel movies?