Fifty Shades of Grey - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades of Grey Reviews

Page 1 of 14
November 10, 2018
The dialogue is terrible and Dornan's Grey is so humourless that any vaguely funny lines fall utterly flat. On the plus side Johnson does her best with what she's been given, Ana is a Thomas Hardy fan, and Grey has a nice kitchen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 25, 2018
If the book was aimed at women, the movie appears to be aimed at the boyfriends and husbands they will drag to the cinema, who are rewarded for their patience at sitting through the creepy pseudo-romance with ample shots of Johnson's bosoms.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2018
Fifty Shades of Grey is that hot date you bring home to discover (s)he's a cold fish between the sheets.
August 22, 2018
The entire palate of the film was cool and gray, which doesn't do much to incite passion. and I don't think we should blame the actors.
August 21, 2018
This is worth going to the cinema for, leave your expectations behind and relax and enjoy a visually beautiful film.
August 21, 2018
Sometimes a book should just remain a book and in the case of "Fifty Shades of Grey" that is exactly the case.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2018
Among the many mind-bogglingly implausible fantasies Fifty Shades of Grey sells, the one I think that most accounts for its popularity is the promise that shame of sexual sin can be alleviated by surrendering to it more fully.
January 30, 2018
I'm really worried about the fact that some people (especially girls) regard Mr. Grey as an object of desire, as some sort of ideal man. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 26, 2018
The second half of the film devolves into something that resembles tedious, melodramatic daytime TV.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 12, 2018
Grey is not a character, but a cluster of clichés... [Full review in Spanish]
January 11, 2018
It's superficial, it's manipulative, it's off-putting and embarrassing. But there's no denying that this says something about the moment in which the book was published and the movie released.
December 2, 2017
The script is abysmally bad, filled with Shakespearean dialogue such as "I won't touch you until I have your written consent", and "I don't make love, I f***... HARD"
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 11, 2017
Dakota Johnson shines in this clunky, boring and domesticated sex ruse. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 7, 2017
There is an awful lot of rose-tinted nostalgia here for a time when women sat passively while powerful men threw wealth at them, but the interesting difference here is that the power dynamic between Red Riding Hood and the Wolf shifts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 30, 2017
Shortage of exotic shenanigans apart, artist-turned-director Sam Taylor-Johnson has delivered a decently acted and technically well-made adaptation of what remains a fundamentally silly and, at times, simply rather unpleasant story.
October 17, 2017
I've seen way worse movies aimed at men and boys, so I think everyone can chill out about a mediocre movie aimed at women.
September 20, 2017
It may not be your conventional Valentine's Day date movie, but it looks set to give audiences more pleasure than pain.
August 16, 2017
The retention of the style of the book and its settings merges with a cinematic story more focused on buildup than execution.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 14, 2017
The film's a hell of a ride, often a fun and thought-provoking one, even though it's all such camp.
August 11, 2017
In the run-up to [Fifty Shades of Grey]'s opening, I was surprised at the promotional efforts of NBC's "Today" show in the daily banter of the hosts and beyond.
Page 1 of 14