Fighting with My Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighting with My Family Reviews

Page 1 of 6
February 22, 2019
Merchant finds a steady, sturdy combination of hard working-class English edge (innit) and heartfelt sentiment; he gets close to The Full Monty territory without outright copying it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 22, 2019
All such movies struggle to find an element that adds flavor to the formula and Fighting With My Family follows suit.
February 22, 2019
Another sports/entertainment centric rags to hero story; it's been done, right? Well here it is again, but this time out it's one of those rare times where it's done really, really well, and with more heart than you can throw a stick at.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
February 22, 2019
... a heartfelt rags-to-riches story with a female-empowerment angle that largely avoids clichés and has the good sense not to take itself too seriously.
February 22, 2019
There is a layer of unforced sensitivity to this film that is enchantingly sublime, Merchant bringing a level of lived-in authenticity that's wonderful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2019
...an entertaining and surprisingly touching story that may not turn you into a pro wrestling fan but will make you appreciate the effort and hard work that goes into succeeding in that world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 22, 2019
Merchant deserves ample credit for juggling family emotion, the outlaw spirit of a "fake" sport, and the continuing message that appearances don't always tell the entire story in any walk of life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 22, 2019
It's an entertaining ride from start to finish (even for those of you who ugly cried a couple of times, like me), and it shows all of the heart behind something like wrestling.
February 22, 2019
Delivers a smackdown to our emotions
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 22, 2019
A smackdown of cliches.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 22, 2019
A charming, light-hearted dramedy and easily the best movie project that WWE Studios has ever had its hand in producing.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 22, 2019
It may not offer too many surprises on the way to its predictable outcome but, like a good WWE showdown, it's the execution that really makes Fighting with My Family a winner.
February 22, 2019
Fighting with my Family is about family first, fighting second.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 22, 2019
A solid cast and Merchant's respectful approach elevates the material to the top rope, but it's rising star Pugh who hits her finisher.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 22, 2019
Creating a film this pre-staged, as it were, serving dutiful dual purposes of telling Paige's story and acting as a PR bonanza for the WWE, seems a little out of [Stephen Merchant] wheelhouse, and is more than a little disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 83/100
February 22, 2019
This movie just had everything I wanted a movie like this to have: Great characters, snappy dialogue -- it has heart.
February 22, 2019
This is a film that is perfectly balanced with humor, drama and heart while it punctuates how a family deals with life's ups and downs -- and picking up the pieces of shattered dreams.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 22, 2019
While the WWE has been making movies for years, only now - thanks to Dwayne Johnson - have they scored a winner with "Fighting with My Family."
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 22, 2019
This is a fine film, a real crowd-pleaser. (Full Content Review for Parents - Violence, Profanity, Sexual Content, etc. - also Available)
February 22, 2019
Fighting with My Family is as likable as it is generic. Pugh's performance is the best thing about the movie but the story, despite Merchant's comedic flourishes, feels stale at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 6