Fighting with My Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighting with My Family Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 19, 2019
What makes it memorable are its funny, sad little corners of very specific humanity.
February 19, 2019
Genuinely heartwarming, totally cheerworthy, bursting with warm and generous performances, and just a whole damn lotta fun. (And I hate professional wrestling.) Florence Pugh absolutely rocks it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 18, 2019
...Fighting with My Family is an undeniably enjoyable experience. Its tone is light and frothy, with this unconventional family adding enough spice to the story's formulaic beats.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 17, 2019
It's strange to say that a film about professional wrestling feels tenderly authentic and sincere, but that's how good the actors and filmmakers are.
February 17, 2019
A crowd-pleasing underdog that plays to its strengths.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 16, 2019
The Rock uncovers a heartfelt, offbeat, and crowd pleasing story of the rise of WWE's wrestling superstar Paige. It's a winner.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 15, 2019
Written and directed by Stephen Merchant with humor and sensitivity, Fighting with My Family is about grit but also about acceptance.
February 15, 2019
The story, which is humbly well told and good-humored, if familiar, is enjoyable enough not to write the film off.
February 15, 2019
The movie numbers among its producers Mr. Dwayne Johnson, himself a wrestler of some renown before falling on hard times and being forced to take a day job (which includes a recurring cameo role here).
February 15, 2019
Both an offbeat comedy and classically rousing underdog tale, this indie film's heart somehow exceeds the size of Dwayne Johnson's bulging biceps.
February 15, 2019
An entertaining introduction to the world of WWE - both behind the scenes and its fandom. Dwayne Johnson and Vince Vaughn do a lot of the heavy lifting here, and do it well!
February 14, 2019
Plenty of family comedies include some grappling, but there's just one I can think of that boasts a piledriver.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 14, 2019
Merchant manages to keep the laughs coming and the story interesting, and the casting is immaculate.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 14, 2019
If the film's dramatic elements are generic, the humor, especially in the first half, is buoyant enough to make it worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 14, 2019
Within the context of a sport that thrives on artifice, writer-director Stephen Merchant spins a story whose emotions feel entirely genuine.
February 14, 2019
The movie had me, like the best wrestling matches, on my feet, cheering it across the finishing line. Charming, inspiring, entertaining and fun - let's hope we get a second round.
February 13, 2019
It's often broadly funny but never mean or patronizing; it takes the Knights, their eccentricities and quixotic aspirations seriously, but not enough to squelch the fun.
February 13, 2019
It's a compelling and likable cast (Frost, in particular, is a standout), and Merchant keeps the film, for all its sports-movie clichés, mostly lively, good-hearted and consistently funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 13, 2019
Some language, lots of pro wrestling in funny biopic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 13, 2019
Fighting with My Family puts a British sense of humor inside a chassis of American gusto. It's as if Hugh Grant became a NASCAR driver.
Page 1 of 3