Fighting with My Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighting with My Family Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 29, 2019
Fighting With My Family feels like it was chewed up and spit out in a uniform box from the inspirational sports movie factory. Every emotional trope is trotted out on full display in this watered-down biopic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 11, 2019
The film, in the end, falls prey to the sports biopic's worst tendency: its harried attempt to condense its subject to a few easy-to-parse moments of struggle and triumph.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 29, 2019
A couple of scenes with The Rock don't energize a run-of-the-mill sports story.
January 29, 2019
Unfortunately, Paige and her family's success story gets watered down by the Hollywood machine.
February 15, 2019
An entertaining introduction to the world of WWE - both behind the scenes and its fandom. Dwayne Johnson and Vince Vaughn do a lot of the heavy lifting here, and do it well!
February 12, 2019
The movie is funny, heartwarming, and will literally make you stand up and cheer. Usually that's just a cliched critic's quote, but here it's just plain the truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 14, 2019
Merchant manages to keep the laughs coming and the story interesting, and the casting is immaculate.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 10, 2019
Fighting with My Family is a defining wrestling film wrapped in feel-good vibes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2019
Fighting With My Family doesn't break the mold of sports movies, but it does a known story with enough heart and energy to easily win over audiences and make more than one kid pick up interest in pro wrestling. And really, isn't that the point?
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 6, 2019
The filmmaking is pretty standard, and it hits all the expected plot points, but "Fighting with My Family" has a tremendous amount of heart. It's the kind of feel-good movie that families can enjoy together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2019
It's strange to say that a film about professional wrestling feels tenderly authentic and sincere, but that's how good the actors and filmmakers are.
February 18, 2019
...Fighting with My Family is an undeniably enjoyable experience. Its tone is light and frothy, with this unconventional family adding enough spice to the story's formulaic beats.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 4, 2019
Stephen Merchant and Dwayne Johnson may make for an odd pairing, but that's appropriate for a movie about families, both makeshift and otherwise.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 31, 2019
An inspiring film full of laughs and yes, a few tears, Fighting with My Family is a wrestling film for everyone.
February 5, 2019
Fighting with My Family is an uplifting comedy that is able to give us all the feels.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 29, 2019
Fun, feel-good comedy with heart & a surprising amount of grit makes for a solid addition to the wrestling movie canon.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10
January 28, 2019
Brings to life both Paige's outward image of strength and her deep connection to her roots - particularly her ability to see the strength within her brother, even though it takes her longer to fully appreciate her own.
January 29, 2019
The Knights - the wrestling clan at the center of Fighting With My Family - are at least idiosyncratic and endearing enough to make themselves worth watching, even if their tale feels like one we've seen many times before.
January 29, 2019
It has such a magnificent cast, and the story is interesting enough to entertain both wrestling fans and non-wrestling fans alike.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 29, 2019
Fighting with My Family is just so good-hearted in nature that you can't help but get won over by its charm, however familiar it feels at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3