Fighting with My Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighting with My Family Reviews

February 19, 2019
What makes it memorable are its funny, sad little corners of very specific humanity.
February 15, 2019
Both an offbeat comedy and classically rousing underdog tale, this indie film's heart somehow exceeds the size of Dwayne Johnson's bulging biceps.
February 14, 2019
Plenty of family comedies include some grappling, but there's just one I can think of that boasts a piledriver.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 14, 2019
Within the context of a sport that thrives on artifice, writer-director Stephen Merchant spins a story whose emotions feel entirely genuine.
February 13, 2019
It's often broadly funny but never mean or patronizing; it takes the Knights, their eccentricities and quixotic aspirations seriously, but not enough to squelch the fun.
February 13, 2019
It's a compelling and likable cast (Frost, in particular, is a standout), and Merchant keeps the film, for all its sports-movie clichés, mostly lively, good-hearted and consistently funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2019
What's surprising is how well all of this suplex-to-nuts biopic works...[but] see it for Florence Pugh's fireplug turn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 8, 2019
You'll want to stand up and cheer when Paige triumphs in this winning family wrestling dramedy... just might make a a few more wrestling fans while it's at it, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 8, 2019
The boastful, performative nature of WWE, spiked with mini dramas and constant role-playing, becomes the lingua franca of an atypical household in Fighting with My Family, the sweetest of comedies despite a sizable number of body slams.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 5, 2019
[A] movie about as subtle as the "bowling ball to the bollocks" one hopeful grunt has to take early on, but still somehow a winning one.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 31, 2019
Even though Fighting with My Family is undoubtedly about branding the WWE as a fantasy factory, its biggest strengths are its wit and surprisingly big heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
January 30, 2019
[A] shamelessly formulaic but fairly irresistible crowd-pleaser with a weird pedigree.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 29, 2019
The beats of "Fighting With My Family" are comfortingly familiar, and the soap opera pomp of the wrestling world is eye-popping to both fans and neophytes alike, but it's Pugh that is always fresh, surprising, and wily.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 29, 2019
A couple of scenes with The Rock don't energize a run-of-the-mill sports story.
January 29, 2019
"Fighting With My Family" may not be an Oscar contender but it has enough wit, heart, energy and good cheer to make it a fun watch even for non-wrestling fans.
January 28, 2019
Brings to life both Paige's outward image of strength and her deep connection to her roots - particularly her ability to see the strength within her brother, even though it takes her longer to fully appreciate her own.