Fighting with My Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighting with My Family Reviews

Page 1 of 10
May 14, 2019
A crowd-pleasing comedy from writer-director Stephen Merchant that operates by rather basic formula but has enough charms to consistently entertain even when you know exactly what's going to happen next.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 1, 2019
It's alarming how Stephen Merchant's comedy-drama manages to win us over at every beat, even when we can predetermine the fixes he has planned for his story.
April 25, 2019
This is a heart-warmer that, just like WWE, looks cheesy but soon sweeps you up in its energy until you are cheering along with everyone else.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 20, 2019
Fighting With My Family is a rousing crowd-pleaser, guaranteed to make you smile, at least once. You may even leap out of your seat and whoop, if such undignified public displays are your kind of thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 19, 2019
"Florence Pugh is called to be a big star and this entertaining movie is another sign that she is on the right track".
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 18, 2019
Whether it is about sibling love turned into rivalry, or trying to live up to expectations, the story is relatable and you don't have to be a WWE fan to understand it.
April 17, 2019
This story, rich in character detail and genuinely funny jokes, makes everyone who walks into frame come alive, complete with traits that other biopics airbrush away.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 16, 2019
Fighting With My Family comes flying off the top rope, tanked up with hilarious humour and heartfelt emotion, and clobbers you right in the feelings.
April 12, 2019
Florence Pugh embodies her character flawlessly, to the point where you forget that she's not actually Paige and when she finally hoists up the belt she always dreamed of winning, she'll have you cheering in your seat.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 12, 2019
An alchemy of comedy and drama. [Full review in Spanish]
April 11, 2019
Some may view this film as a promotional vehicle for the WWE and effectively it is, but who cares if it does it with the purest weapons of popular cinema. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 9, 2019
You could know next-to-nothing about wrestling and still be enthralled by this eclectic group of characters.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 8, 2019
Fighting With My Family hews closely to the tried-and-true "underdog sports drama" blueprint, but director Stephen Merchant (working from his own screenplay) elevates the material by infusing it with plenty of wit and humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 5, 2019
All-in-all, Fighting With My Family makes for an all-around family film that's marked by some believable performances. Watch it even if you aren't a fan of pro wrestling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 5, 2019
For a film on wrestlers, there aren't too many actual fight scenes, but as an entertainer, it delivers a knockout punch and wrestles its way to your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 5, 2019
All in all, Fighting With My Family is a pleasant surprise. I recommend it for fans of wrestling and non-fans alike.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 3, 2019
A film with lots of heart that entertains. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 28, 2019
Florence Pugh shines - and kicks - her way through this WWE wrestling comedy that has a lot of heart in between all the clichés and bruises.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 28, 2019
A heart-warming underdog story filled with fine performances, Fighting with My Family presents the world of professional wrestling as not only a business, but as a vocation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 25, 2019
Like the characters it celebrates, this knockabout British comedy is a little rough around the edges, but its heart is in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 10