Fighting with My Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fighting with My Family Reviews

Page 1 of 10
April 30, 2019
It's a well catered film for the bleak February market, where anything mildly substantial this time of year will appear better than the low budget horror films and lazy sequels
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 29, 2019
Fighting With My Family feels like it was chewed up and spit out in a uniform box from the inspirational sports movie factory. Every emotional trope is trotted out on full display in this watered-down biopic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 24, 2019
.... intended for generic uplift that sacrifices specifics for something safe and anodyne.
February 11, 2019
The film, in the end, falls prey to the sports biopic's worst tendency: its harried attempt to condense its subject to a few easy-to-parse moments of struggle and triumph.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 26, 2019
... a crowd-pleasing comedy that feels as strenuously fraudulent as its topic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 22, 2019
A smackdown of cliches.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 21, 2019
Fighting With My Family ultimately reveals itself as a shallow take on a genuinely fascinating story.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 1, 2019
The film struggles to dramatize Paige's triumph as anything but preordained.
February 21, 2019
A comedy drama bearing the pungent whiff of a brand-awareness exercise for World Wrestling Entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 22, 2019
All such movies struggle to find an element that adds flavor to the formula and Fighting With My Family follows suit.
January 29, 2019
A couple of scenes with The Rock don't energize a run-of-the-mill sports story.
March 20, 2019
It's a ramshackle movie at best, stuffed with cliches, cartoonish yet visually inert, a plea for non-conformity that never veers far from the commercial playbook.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 22, 2019
Creating a film this pre-staged, as it were, serving dutiful dual purposes of telling Paige's story and acting as a PR bonanza for the WWE, seems a little out of [Stephen Merchant] wheelhouse, and is more than a little disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 83/100
January 29, 2019
Unfortunately, Paige and her family's success story gets watered down by the Hollywood machine.
February 27, 2019
Despite a great real-life background story, and despite comedy master Stephen Merchant being at the helm as writer-director, this movie never really comes off.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2019
It's alarming how Stephen Merchant's comedy-drama manages to win us over at every beat, even when we can predetermine the fixes he has planned for his story.
April 12, 2019
Florence Pugh embodies her character flawlessly, to the point where you forget that she's not actually Paige and when she finally hoists up the belt she always dreamed of winning, she'll have you cheering in your seat.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 16, 2019
Fighting With My Family comes flying off the top rope, tanked up with hilarious humour and heartfelt emotion, and clobbers you right in the feelings.
March 20, 2019
Fighting With My Family is a lovely little British gem and while it's not perfect, Merchant shows admirable potential as a director.
March 15, 2019
There are funny, sad and heartwarming moments from four characters.
Page 1 of 10